Monday’s Question

Question:  What turns you off fast when you’re reading (in books or blog reading)?

My Answer:  Profanity.  For me, especially, it’s the F-bomb being dropped every few words.  When I see that, I automatically quit reading because it’s a big turn-off for me.  It’s unfortunate, because there are so many good writers out there but they feel they have to use profanity in every sentence.

MH900048360

What about you?  What’s a quick turn-off for you when you’re reading?

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. Carol O. says:

    Yes, profanity, too, but encountering misspellings in this automatically red-underlining/spell-(and grammar)checker infused day and age is an instant turn-off for me. I generally don’t go further than that in reading anything (and indeed, I’ve encountered misspellings and grammatical errors in print publications as well as online). It’s usually more a sign of carelessness than arrogance. Well, carelessness can be fixed –and should be!

  2. Gail says:

    I agree Carol. I hope you don’t quit reading my blog though as I know my grammar isn’t always great. I have often thought about taking a refresher course as I’ve realized my grammar skills have gotten worse the older I get. I often wish I could hire a proofreader!

Leave a Reply

