Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern

In a new post specifically created for this challenge, share a picture which means PATTERN to you!

I’ve been thinking about a photo that depicts a “pattern” for days now.  Then it came to me when I was visiting my in-laws this afternoon.  My in-laws have a large deck with wrought iron railings and steps.  The spiders absolutely go nuts at night spinning their webs between the wrought iron railings.  Today I was noting all the very intricate webs which were glimmering in the afternoon sun and they were beautiful!  I was feeling bummed about not having my camera, and then I remembered I had taken a picture last year of a rather large spider web (complete with spider and all) in my own backyard.  The picture was taken at night, hence the darkness, but I think you will be able to appreciate this spider’s very detailed pattern.

spider's web

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Pattern: Roofs | Flickr Comments

  2. Jessie says:

    Nice! I’m impressed you got such a nice picture in the dark!
    We are still so cold here (frost last night) we don’t have many spiders or other bugs out yet. Supposed to be in the 80’s tomorrow so I suppose we won’t last much longer without mosquitoes!

  3. Gail says:

    Our weather has been crazy as well. We got down to 38 last night! But then up to 71 today. This web was so amazing. I’ve never seen one quite like it. It was anchored to our swing set on one side and then way up in a tree beside our deck on the other side. It was HUGE and I was very thankful I didn’t walk into it!!!

  4. Wonderful picture illustrating how nature got its head around physics and architecture long before we humans got started.

    • Gail says:

      Very true! I am always just mesmerized at watching spiders spin their webs. I always wonder how in the world that much silk can come from that one little arachnid! It’s truly amazing when you think about it! And how they “just know” how to do it… weave a web I mean.

      • They’re looking into medical applications for spider silk – for repairing wounds. It’s amazing how they “just know”, as you say: we have to be shown how to do anything except eat and breathe 🙂

  5. Gail says:

    Spider silk for repairing wounds! Wow…. that’s fascinating!!

    Isn’t that the truth (that we have to be shown how to do just about everything except eating and breathing). I remember bringing my first newborn home from the hospital. I kept waiting for my “mothering” instincts to take over as I was clueless as to what to do. Nothing ever really “kicked in” for me and everything I learned, I learned from baby care books…. and of course my mother and mother-in-law!!

  6. Wow! and the spider was in there! So amazing.

Leave a Reply

