Things I’m Loving These Days

I haven’t posted in a while.  We’ve moved one son home from college for the summer (one remained on campus to work there).  Another school year has ended.  Why does that always make me so sad?  My twin nieces just graduated from high school and I’m feeling pretty old.  Weren’t they just born, like yesterday????

This year I volunteered in a 3rd grade classroom and ended up liking it a lot more than I thought I would.  The kids as a whole were sweet and as the year went on I found myself wanting to rise up to the challenge of helping them with their struggles.  And I’ll admit that I had to relearn 3rd grade math!  All year I thought of the American Game Show, Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader?   And I honestly had to wonder if I was smarter than a 3rd grader.  Yep, that math got to me sometimes.

Here’s my list of 5 things I’m loving these days.  I haven’t done one of “these” posts in a while and they’re always fun.

1. Everyday Blessings:  Spiritual Refreshment for Women

Everyday Blessings

I’m beginning to feel like a hoarder of devotional books.  I do have quite a collection going but I do read them and enjoy them.  It seems they speak to me on days I really need speaking to.  This one has very short and sweet readings, but they’re very powerful and always meaningful.  I found this book at the grocery store of all places.

2.  My two new floral arrangements

Foyer flower arrangement

Foyer flower arrangement

Dining room table floral arrangement

Dining room table floral arrangement

I finally got around to getting arrangements made for these two tables.  I had my living room, dining room and foyer painted almost 2 years ago (!) and have had good intentions to get new flowers for those rooms since then.  We painted our foyer a dark Spanish red that I’m still trying to learn to like, but it’s just not happening.  It’s just too dark for me.  My mother-in-law suggested that I go with an all-white floral arrangement to lighten things up a little.  I already had the vase and so I bought all the white flowers.  I was going to attempt the arranging myself but in the end, took them to my friendly neighborhood florist and let my friend Lois have the pleasure.  She did a beautiful job and I couldn’t be happier with both arrangements.  And the white did seem to brighten things up some!  Thanks mother-in-law!!

3.  Spring/Summer flowers

008   011

I love this time of year and seeing all the lovely hanging flower baskets and bedding flowers.  I don’t have a green thumb by any means but I do try to plant flowers in my 2 concrete planters I have in the front yard every spring.  I also always purchase 4 hanging flower baskets– 2 for the front and 2 for the back.  I’m lucky to have them live past the fourth of July as our  hot summer heat which often makes it to 100 degrees, does them  in no matter how much watering and TLC is bestowed on them.

4.  My newest 2 pigs which have been added to my never-ending pig kitchen collection

005   003

The timer on my  very old stove broke many eons ago.  I’ve gone through I don’t know how many portable timers.  And after burning an entire batch of chocolate chip cookies the other night due to timer failure, I saw this little guy at Home Goods the other day and couldn’t pass him up.  He fits right in my pig kitchen and so far he’s doing his job well!  The other little piggy came from an antique mall.  Couldn’t pass that little cutie up who’s actually no bigger than the end of my thumb.

5. Prayers for Difficult Times: When You Don’t Know What to Pray

Prayers for Difficult Times

I’ll admit, this has been a very challenging year (and it’s not even halfway over).  I came across this book in a LifeWay Christian bookstore.  It has a prayer for everything. EVERYTHING.  There’s a prayer for everything from anxiety to depression, insomnia, job stress, doubt, sickness, and worry.  Just to name a few.  It’s a big help when the words just won’t come and you don’t know what to pray.  It helps sometimes to read these prayers as  jump-starters to my own praying.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Things I'm Loving These Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

