What’s On My Bedside Table

011

My Good News Bible pretty much stays on my bedside table.  Right now I’m participating in a bible study at my church and we are reading The Book of Exodus.  This is my second time to study Exodus.  I recently studied Ecclesiastes and a few weeks ago started reading/studying Song of Solomon.

I just finished reading Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar.  I had come across a couple of WordPress blogs about the book and about Sylvia Plath and became very curious about this book and her life.  I agree with the cashier at Books-A-Million.  She picked the book up to ring it up and said, “Ahhh…. The Bell Jar— a great book!  Not a happy or feel good book by any means but definitely a classic and a good book.”  My sentiments exactly.  While it was a sad book, and the life of Sylvia Plath was very tragic and sad, it was interesting to me to follow the character’s descent into mental illness, psychiatric hospitals, etc.  I was glad I read this book.  Though I’m not a big poetry reader, I think I’m interested in looking into reading some of Sylvia Plath’s poetry.

Books I’m reading now and/or getting ready to read:

The Travler’s Gift by Andy Andrews.  This will be the first book I’ve read by Andy Andrews.  It was recommended to me by an employee at Books-A- Million.  I’ve heard good things about this book.

The Power of Praying for Your Adult Children– by Stormie Omartian.  I strongly believe in the power of prayer and in this day and age, I feel my adult children can NEVER have enough prayers said for them.   I have the pocket-book of prayers that goes along with this book and I LOVE it.  I carry it in my purse everywhere I go and the prayers are just perfect.  It has a prayer for everything, and I mean everything.  Being an Episcopalian, I love written prayers.

The Path to Success is Paved with Positive Thinking: How to Live a Joy-Filled Life and Make Your Dreams Come True– by Wally Amos.  This is a Blue Mountain Arts book (who doesn’t love those)?  I read a few pages from this book every day.  I’m striving to see the glass as half full instead of half empty.  What more can I say?

Eat This and Live– by Don Colbert, MD.  This book caught my eye immediately.  I love the color graphics and easy to read format.  I definitely need to learn to make better food choices and of course there’s that never-ending desire to lose weight.  I’m looking forward to delving into this book as I’m always interested in learning as much as I can about good nutrition.

014

What reading material is on your bedside table?

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

