Daily Prompt: Bookworm

Daily Prompt:  Tell us about the last book you read (Why did you choose it? Would you recommend it?). To go further, write a post based on its subject matter.

thetravelersgift

I finished The Traveler’s Gift by Andy Andrews just a few days ago.  I wanted to read this book because I was in Books-A-Million one day and one of the employees, who knows I’m part of a book club, always recommends books to me that she thinks our book club would enjoy.  She recommended The Traveler’s Gift.  A woman behind me overheard her recommend the book and she laughed and held up a boxed set of books she was getting ready to purchase and it was a set by Andy Andrews.  The Traveler’s Gift was in that set.  I thought, what are the chances of that happening?  I decided I must put the book on my to-read list.

Several weeks later, I was in a Goodwill store, and I found a like-new copy of The Traveler’s Gift.  It was a good price and the sticker color for the book happened to be the color that was 50% off for that day, so I obviously couldn’t pass it up!

I enjoyed this book and I look forward to reading more books by Andy Andrews.  In my opinion, with The Traveler’s Gift, he very cleverly combined fiction, inspiration and self-help into one book.  It held my interest and kept me curious and wondering until the end.

It was about a man named David Ponder, who is happily married with a young daughter.  He loses his job and everything starts going wrong in his life.  He can’t pay the bills and then his daughter becomes very sick and he can’t even afford her medical care.  He is driving on an icy road and his car starts to spin out of control.  At this point, he’s not even sure he wants to live and he calls out to God.  He is allowed to travel back in time and meet some famous and important people from the past (Abraham Lincoln, King Solomon, Anne Frank, and the angel Gabriel, (just to name a few) who each teach him one of the 7 decisions for personal success.  Then he is allowed to travel to the future where we see the results of his journey.

Sounds crazy trying to explain this book, but I really liked it and I want to purchase the study guide and dig into it a little deeper.  It’s a quick and easy read.  It kept me wanting to turn the pages to see what would happen next.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt: Bookworm

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Bookworm-Words | WoollyMuses

  2. This book sounds very interesting, I think I’ll put it on my reading list. Thanks for writing about it.

    • Gail says:

      You’re welcome! I hope you like it. I wouldn’t think it would be easy for an author to successfully “pull off” a book that is a combination of fiction, inspiration and self-help. But I think Andy Andrews did it beautifully in this book. Hope you enjoy it!

  3. Pingback: THIS MIRROR, MY IMAGE, THEIR GATE | hastywords

Leave a Reply

