Daily Prompt: Moment of Kindness

Today’s daily prompt:  Describe a moment of kindness, between you and someone else — loved one or complete stranger.

Last night I spent some time in Books-A-Million browsing.  When it was time to check out, there was a line.  I decided to save time and try to go ahead and dig out my BAM Millionaires membership card (which gives a 10% discount on purchases).

I pulled out my heavy billfold– overstuffed with WAY too much change and a ton of membership cards from other stores that I was forced to dig through.  Really, all these cards are getting ridiculous.

In trying to juggle holding  my purse and billfold, the books I was purchasing, and all those cards, clumsy me dropped my billfold with a splat.  As luck would have it, the coin pocket came unsnapped and within a nanosecond change was flung in every direction on the floor.  A little boy happened to be walking by.  I guessed him to be about 5 or 6.  He heard the money drop, and as fast as lightning, he started running around and gathering up all my coins.  The two teenage girls checking out in front of me helped as well.  I thanked them all profusely, especially the little boy.   He had a big grin on his face as he happily dropped his gathered handful of coins back in my change purse.  When he finished he ran off with his mother to another checkout line.

By then it was my time to check out.  When I finished,  I opened my billfold and removed 4 quarters and went up to the little boy who was waiting with his mother.  I squatted down and held the coins out to him.  I said to him, “This is for being such a nice helper.”  I patted him on the back and told him he was a very nice little boy.  He smiled as did his mother.

I left with a smile on my face too.

aesop-no-act-of-kindness-not-matter-how-small

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Kindness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt: Moment of Kindness

  1. What a sweet story….Diane

Leave a Reply

