Monday’s Question

Question:  If you had to give up one material possession for good, what would it be?

 My Answer:  I would give up the TV.  I rarely watch TV because there’s just nothing  much on that I like.  We just have regular broadcast television– we don’t have cable TV or satellite TV or anything like that.  All that seems to be on these days is crime shows, crimes shows, and more crime shows.  They all depict murder, rape, and violence.  I just don’t enjoy all the blood and gore on those shows.  It gets old after a while.  Someone gets murdered, you see the bloody crime scene, you watch them process that bloody gory crime scene, interview the distraught people involved, and in the end, they solve the crime.  Bleh.  

There just aren’t any good family shows on TV anymore.  I’ve noticed sitcoms are filled these days with profanity and references to sex and/or genitals.  Constantly.  Oh, and let’s not forget all the scantily clad women.  Why do the writers of these shows think that we all want to be inundated and humored with jokes and references to sex and genitals all the time?  That’s insulting to me.  TV has just become so perverse in my opinion.  I always wonder when I do happen to have the TV on, what my mother would think if she were alive today.  I know she would be shocked to no end.  She wouldn’t like what’s on television these days.  It has strayed so far from what is right and good.  

MH900432517   

  Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. We sold our TV last December and haven’t looked back. Occasionally, we miss it, and will probably find some way to watch our favorite teams play football once or twice in the fall, but we really don’t miss it.

    • Gail says:

      Good for you! I don’t think I would miss mine at all. My husband on the other hand….. he says TV is his way of destressing after work and relaxing.

Leave a Reply

