Daily Prompt: The Artist’s Eye

Daily Prompt:  Is there a painting or sculpture you’re drawn to? What does it say to you? Describe the experience. (Or, if art doesn’t speak to you, tell us why.)

My sister and I were in an Antique Mall a few months ago.  We happened to walk by a booth where a lovely piece of framed artwork was hanging on the wall.  It immediately caught my eye.  It was dusty and dirty from hanging there no telling how long but I was immediately drawn to it.

The Snow Encumbered Branches Artist Joseph Farguharson- 1901 Photo credit:  Wikipedia

The Snow Encumbered Branches
Artist Joseph Farguharson- 1901
Photo credit: Wikipedia

The painting was nicely matted and framed in a beautiful gold frame.  I kept going back to the picture.  I decided I loved this painting and I bought it (for a great price I might add)!

I came home and looked it up.  It was painted by Joseph Farguharson who was a Scottish painter.  He lived from 1846-1935.  The painting’s title is “Snow Encumbered Branches” and it was painted around 1901.  Mr. Farguharson was famous for his snowy landscapes which often featured sheep at dawn or dusk.  I read where this painting was a popular Christmas card and was often titled “The Shortening Winter’s Day is Near a Close” but that was an incorrect title.

I’ve always loved sheep.  After working with them some in veterinary school, I found them to be such docile animals.  I love snow too.  I love the reflections of the setting sun on the snow in this painting and the expectant look the sheep have for their shepherd.

So yes, this painting spoke to me.  It’s calming and peaceful.  And beautiful.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt: The Artist’s Eye

  1. Pingback: NEVER GROW UP | hastywords

  2. Pingback: Famine | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

