Daily Prompt: Smell You Later

Today’s daily prompt:  Humans have very strong scent memory. Tell us about a smell that transports you.

Every time I smell pipe smoke, it takes me back to when my father was still living.  He often smoked a pipe at night after dinner.  I still remember watching him put the tobacco in the pipe, tamping it down, and lighting the pipe.  I particularly remember the smell of his cherry tobacco.  Smelling cherry tobacco definitely transports me back to those nights living at home, sitting in the den with the family after dinner, and watching my father light his pipe.  Happy times.

photo credit:  pipesmagazine.com

photo credit: pipesmagazine.com

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Memories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt: Smell You Later

  1. Relax says:

    My father used to smoke a pipe of cherry tobacco, too. It made one feel safe and calm. 🙂

  2. PJ says:

    Everytime I smell a pipe, I think of our Dad. To this day I love the smell of a pipe….especially cherry tobacco!

Leave a Reply

