Daily Prompt: Name that… You!

Today’s Daily Prompt:  Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? 

My name, “Gail” (which is actually a shortened version of Abigail) has both English and Hebrew origins.  The English meaning given for the name Gail is “lively.”  The Hebrew meaning is, “Joy of the Father” or Father’s joy.”

The name Gail was most popular for baby girls in 1951 but has dropped considerably in popularity in years since.  I recall my mother telling me she picked out my name from a baby name book.  I think she just liked the name and I wasn’t named after anybody in particular.  I remember her telling me she tried to give me and my two sisters names that could be easily spelled and names that people wouldn’t give us nicknames (for example, people named Richard getting called Dick, or people named Robert getting called Bob).

I like my name although I will confess that it gets misspelled a lot.  People often spell it “Gayle” and surprisingly “Gale” which is considered more the male spelled version of my name.

My middle name is Elaine.  The origin of the name Elaine is thought to be Greek.  It was a more popular name back in the 40s.  I don’t see too many girls named Elaine now.  The meaning of Elaine is “light.”  I think my mother chose the name Elaine out of the name book too.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily Prompt: Name that… You!

  1. Susan D. says:

    It is funny – I saw this prompt and thought, “Wasn’t there one like this a few months ago?” And then I checked my posts, and sure enough – there it is. But, it is a wee bit different.
    And whether your mother got the names out of the book or not, I think the meanings are lovely when considered together… “Father’s Joy – Light.” It is absolutely lovely.

  2. Relax says:

    Lovely names! I was always called by others’ names mistakenly –mostly “Sharon” or “Linda”, but once, someone did call me Gail. I liked it! Felt like the pretty girl next door. I hope you do, too!

    • Gail says:

      🙂 I’ve always liked my name and often shared classes growing up with other “Gails.” I remember having a teacher in the 10th grade who was forever calling me Deborah. Not even close to Gail! Never could figure out how he was coming up with that!

      • Relax says:

        ROFL! Apparently, you must’ve just looked like his idea of a Deborah! I finally just started answering to any name, as long as it wasn’t “Hey, mister!” And yes, you ladies are right –sometimes a Daily Prompt is awfully close to one from a few months ago!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: What is in the name… | Me: A Wannabe-Superhero

  5. Pingback: What’s in a name? | Natasha's Memory Garden

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that . . .you! | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

