Prayers for the Philippines

The devastation stares back at me.  In the midst of flipping through a photo gallery  of 80+ photos of the aftermath of a massive typhoon that slammed into the Philippines, I can only stare in horror.  Tragedy doesn’t even seem to be a word that’s adequate.  I stare at these photos and hot, blinding tears come, but no words.  Shaking my head and dropping tears is all I can seem to do.  Photos of dead bodies, of elderly people fighting the winds and rain, shock-faced and terror-stricken people staring down at horrific ruins– ruins that used to be their homes.  Photos of crying babies clinging tightly to their mother’s bosom.  It’s heartbreaking.

I’ve never been to the Philippines.  I don’t know much about their culture really.  But I’ve come to love the Filipino people.  Yes, through blogging, I’ve met a few of these hard-working, kind and caring people.  Without a doubt, they’re truly some of the nicest people I’ve met in the blogosphere.

And then there’s the young Filipino man my family met just a week ago today who was the general manager of the out-of-town deli we visited for lunch.  I keep thinking of him.  How he stood and talked to us during our lunch.  His warm smile.  His sense of humor and how he went out of his way to be kind to us.  Made us feel so welcome in his restaurant.  A sincere and beautiful smile that’s now forever etched in my brain.  Told us a little about what it was like back home in his country– what a hard-working people the Filipinos are. The struggles they endure.  He told us how he ended up here in the states.  We talked about some of the differences in Americans and Filipinos.  I think about what he did for my 84-year-old mother-in-law when he found out it was her first time to visit the deli…. how he left and retrieved a large freshly made strawberry shortcake (which just so happens to be her favorite dessert) and handed it to her and said it was a gift from him for it being her first time to eat there.  A kind gesture by a kind man with big brown eyes and a beautiful smile who I can’t stop thinking about now.

Who knows why typhoons slam into island countries, wreaking havoc and destroying so many lives.  I have no answers.  Just like I have no answers as to why people would walk into a mall, airport, movie theater, or a college campus and shoot innocent people.  Or why terrorists fly airplanes into tall buildings.  Or why tornadoes strike and within minutes, too many people are dead and homes destroyed.  Or why my friend had to die in a tragic car accident in July.  Or why my parents both had to be stricken with cancer and suffer before they left this earth.  No answers.  Only prayers.

Today, I can only go down on bended knees and pray for the Philippines.  God bless them all.

bgwept

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Tragedy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Prayers for the Philippines

  1. Monica says:

    Hi, how very kind of you to make this wonderful prayer about my country and fellow people my eyes was in tears reading it May God Bless your you and keep you safe,
    Monica Draper from UK.

  2. God bless you my friend for keeping the Philippines in your thoughts and prayers. God is merciful. I know he will help the victims rise up after such devastation. Just talk to my mom today. They are okay but now it’s time to rebuild. Me And my sisters will try our best to help them in whatever way we can. I also wanted to talk to my dad who is part of a Christian group if they are planning to help out those who lost everything. Right now, everyone that I know are trying to fix their houses but I know they too are planning to help those who were really badly affected. God is good and I know he will hear our prayers. Thank you.

    • Gail says:

      I am so glad you are able to communicate with your family. It has to be hard being so far away. I am so happy to hear they are okay. I thought about them (and you!) and worried when I heard about how massive this storm was.

      You are so right. God is merciful and yes, he hears our prayers. My prayers continue for all affected. God Bless your family.

  3. Thank you for the continued prayers and support. I’m off this weekend and I’m doing a fund raising with my family at my son’s soccer game field. I’m also joining a friend whose initiating a Shelter Box to provide emergency shelter and supplied. Big or small, there is always we can do for others in need. God bless you and your family.

Leave a Reply

