Daily Prompt: Inside the Actor’s Studio

Today’s daily prompt:   On the interview show Inside the Actors’ Studio, host James Lipton asks each of his guests the same ten questions. What are your responses?

  1. What is your favorite word?

I don’t really have a favorite word but I had to laugh when I read this question as I immediately thought of my parasitology professor in veterinary school.  Her favorite word of all times was Macracanthorhynchus hirudinaceus (which just happens to be a type of intestinal parasite found in pigs and other animals).  It is a fun word to say, I’ll have to admit.  She swore she was going to name her first-born child after this parasite, but I can testify to the fact that she DID NOT as she became pregnant and gave birth to a little girl while I was in vet school and named her little girl Rachel (a much better choice don’t you think)?

2.  What is your least favorite word?

Any type of profanity, especially G** D*** or the F bomb.

3.  What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?

Without a doubt, music.

4.  What turns you off?

Profanity, especially in movies.  I especially am turned off when really good writers feel like they have to use profanity in every other sentence.  When they do, I quit reading.  Other turn offs are sit-coms who have constant genital jokes or jokes about masturbation.  Do writers of these shows think that’s all the public wants to hear?  It’s why I rarely watch TV anymore.  Watch  just about any sit-com, especially the newer ones, and you’ll quickly see what I’m talking about.  I’ll admit I sat on my couch one night with pen and pad in hand, watching Two Broke Girls.  I think I stopped counting after the 13th genital/masturbation/sexually related joke.  Yes, I’ve become my mother.  

Other things that turn me off are when people talk condescendingly to others.  I’m turned off by telemarketers who won’t take no for an answer (I don’t like to hang up on people but this is one instance when I will).  I could go on and on but I’ll stop now.

5.   What is your favorite curse word?

Favorite curse word?  This is really a question???  I don’t have one.  I would like to say I never use them at all but I won’t lie.

6.  What sound or noise do you love?

A contented cat purring has to be my all-time favorite sound, but I also love crickets chirping, birdsong, a baby laughing, and the ocean.

7.   What sound or noise do you hate?

The sound of a dentist’s drill.

8.  What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

A writer or grief counselor.

9.  What profession would you not like to do?  

A dentist.

10.  If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

“Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt: Inside the Actor’s Studio

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Inside the Actor’s Studio | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Inside the Actor’s Studio | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  3. Another great list I loved. I so agree with your whole profanity and nastiness on TV. I hate how a good movie or show can be ruined with too much profanity. After one or two I am done. I so forgot to include anatomy words in my favorite word list. It didn’t even cross my mind. There were lots of good ones there.

  4. Don’t like the sound of dentist drill too. Just thinking about it gives me butterflies in my tummy. God bless…

  5. Pingback: Catching Up in Writing Prompts | 365 Days of Thank You

Leave a Reply

