King’s Arms Tavern Sweet Potatoes

King's Arm Tavern

One of my favorite places to visit is Colonial Williamsburg.  I first visited there my senior year in high school, and during that visit, we dined at the King’s Arms Tavern.  I can still taste that meal and remember everything I ate.  When we left, we were given a booklet that had recipes of everything we had eaten there.  This sweet potato casserole is delicious and I’ve made them every year for Thanksgiving since that visit in 1976.  I think the secret is mashing them with the electric mixer until they are very smooth.  Enjoy!

3 lbs. sweet potatoes

3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed, divided

3 Tablespoons butter

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 c. milk (I use evaporated milk)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Grease a 1 1/2 quart casserole dish.  Cook sweet potatoes in boiling salted water until done; peel and mash.  Stir in all remaining ingredients except 2 tablespoons of sugar.  Turn mixture into prepared casserole and sprinkle with remaining sugar.  Bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes.

I always brown large marshmallows on top before serving.

King's Arms Tavern Sweet Potatoes

King’s Arms Tavern Sweet Potatoes

Kings Arms Tavern in Colonial Williamsburg photo credit: www.colorfulplaces.com

Kings Arms Tavern in Colonial Williamsburg
photo credit: http://www.colorfulplaces.com

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

