Happy New Year!

007

I must be getting old.  I think this is the first New Year’s Eve that I haven’t felt like going out somewhere, or having someone over.  I even thought about going to bed early tonight but that just didn’t feel right.  It would be a first for me–sleeping through the New Year.  It just doesn’t seem right to not be awake when the clock strikes midnight to celebrate in some way.  And I have to say, I’m not sad in. the. least. to see 2013 go.

I can’t remember ever NOT being awake at midnight on New Year’s Eve.   As a young girl, my mother always let my sisters and me stay up to “bring in the New Year.”  Our tradition was to sip champagne (yuck) and believe me, one sip is all this girl wanted.  My mother always drank her champagne from a hollow stemmed champagne glass and I remember my sisters and I always liked watching the champagne bubbling up in her glass.

Our biggest tradition was to bang pots and pans at midnight.  I used to think everyone did this on New Year’s Eve.  I think I was in college and dating my boyfriend-turned-husband when I learned that not everyone does this on New Years Eve.  He had never heard of it and I think he found it quite an odd tradition.  I remember vividly either standing on the front porch of our house banging the pots and pans with spoons or a group of us neighborhood kids parading up and down the street.   This made quite the racket as you can imagine.

I also used to pull out my trumpet sometimes and play Auld Lang Syne at midnight too. That stopped many years ago when I lost my trumpet lip.  When I married and kids came along, I used to let them bang pots and pans too (traditions are important to me). Sometimes we would shoot a few fireworks.  Usually we pull out the dusty wine glasses out of the cabinet (which only see the light of day once a year on New Years Eve in this house)  and fill them with Sparkling Red Grape Juice and we all share a toast.

For New Years dinner, I usually have a pork roast of some sort and always black-eyed peas with a dime hidden in them for good luck.  My mother did that and I believe her mother before her.

Do you have any special traditions you do to celebrate the New Year?  Here’s hoping you all have a very Happy 2014!!!!!

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Holidays, New Years Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. enitsirk24 says:

    When we were kids, we banged on pots and pans on the front porch and screamed “Happy New Year at the top of our lungs. On year one of us banged on a little pan and dented the bottom. My mom was mad at us when she realized what happened, but the odd thing was that she never replaced the little pan. It sat all wobbly on the stove as she used it all the time. I am tempted to peek in her pan collection to see if she still has it.
    Happy New Year!

    • Gail says:

      That is so funny because one year, all the neighborhood kids came over on New Year’s Eve to celebrate with us and my mother ran out of pots and pans. So she gave some of the kids lids to bang. Someone banged one of her Revere Ware lids and it was dented all the way around! Let’s just say my mom was NOT happy!! I think of that every New Year’s Eve!

      Happy New Year to you too!

  2. TrishaDM says:

    Ah! You bang pots and pans at midnight too?
    My husband did that as well as a child. Every New Years, they would go outside and bang pots and pans. I didn’t even stay up to midnight until I was a teenager. When we were dating, he mentioned this and I thought, like your husband, he was absolutely crazy and had never heard of it. He still threatens to do it every year.
    We don’t have any special traditions, really… Except celebrating the New Year in the three time zones the two of us have lived in.
    My grandmother was super superstitious and had a rule that it was bad luck if a woman or child was the first person to walk into the house on New Years Day. So, every year, we would go there for lunch and every year, my Mom would hold me back, so that my Dad would be the first in.

    • Gail says:

      Well I am glad someone else has heard of banging pots and pans on New Years Eve!

      I had never heard of the rule that it was bad luck if a woman or child was the first person to walk into a house on New Years Day. My mother used to always take her Christmas tree down on New Years Day and said it was bad luck to leave it up after that. I used to always take mine down too on New Years Day. Now I leave it up through January 6th, Epiphany.

      Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

