Ten Books I Want to Read in 2014

It was hard to do, but I decided to limit this to a list of just ten books I want to read this year.  Some of these books are repeats that I had on previous lists and for some reason, they never got read.  One I started but put down and never finished.  Some are brand new.  And a couple are books my book club has picked out.

1.  The Mayo Clinic Diet: Eat Well, Enjoy Life.  Lose Weight

mayo-clinic-diet_4eccbbffae2b7

I started reading this book last year.  It has good common sense nutrition advice in it.  I so need to read this book and follow it.

2.  Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption– by Katie Davis

kisses from katie book front

I read about this book on a blog or two and thought it looked very interesting.  The author’s from Nashville, Tennessee, which made it even more appealing to me. 🙂  It was a Goodwill find and I couldn’t pass it up.  Also, Ann Voskamp praised it, so how can I go wrong?

3.  The Kitchen House– by Kathleen Grissom

The Kitchen House

This is a book that someone in our book club recommended and it’s on our list of books to be read soon.  I’ve heard if you liked The Help, then you will love this book.  The Help just happens to be one of my favorite books of all times so I’m thinking I will like this one too.

4.  Jackie After Jack: Portrait of The Lady– by Christopher Andersen

Jackie after Jack

My mother read this book a year or so before her death and really liked it.  I remember her handing it to me and suggesting that I read it.  She said she thought I would also find it interesting.  It’s all about Jackie Kennedy and her mysterious life after JFK died.  I’ve had this book on my bookshelf for years and decided it’s time to read it.  With the recent 50th anniversary of JFK’s assassination, I have to say it’s re-sparked my interest.

5.  The Fault In Our Stars- by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars

Several bloggers have recommended this book and it’s also on our book club’s to-read list for this year. I bought it several months ago and look forward to reading it.  I’ve heard nothing but positive things about this book!

6.  How to Win Friends and Influence People– by Dale Carnegie

how to win friends and influence people

Is this an oldie but goody or what?  I came across my old and very yellowed copy of this book on my bookshelf the other day and decided I would like to read it again.  I think I was in high school or college when I read it the first time.  It’s crammed full of great information.  I think this is one of those books that everyone should read at least once to help improve their relationships.

7.  A New Song by Jan Karon (book #5 in the Mitford series)

A-New-Song-Karon-Jan-9780670878109

I’ve read books 1-4 in the Mitford series and loved each and every one of them.  They are such fun and relaxing books to read.  I found a hardback copy of this book (an autographed copy!) at a used book store that was going out of business and got a great deal on it (and  all the remaining books in the Mitford series).  I want to try to finish the series this year (well sorta, but then again I don’t ever want them to end)!

8. Becoming the Woman God Wants Me to Be: A 90-Day Guide To Living the Proverbs 31 Life-  by Donna Partow

Becoming the Woman God Wants me to be

I’ve had this book on my to-read list for a while now.  I even started it once or twice but laid it aside and for some reason I never picked it back up.  The New Year has motivated me to take some time to really focus on this book and spend some time on it.  I’ve heard good things about it.

9.  How to Hear from God– by Joyce Meyer.  100 ways to Simplify your Life by Joyce Meyer and Look Great Feel Great:12 Keys to Enjoying a Healthy Life Now by Joyce Meyer

How to Hear from God  100 ways to simplify your life  look good feel great

Okay okay, I know this is three books but I just included them all in a 3-in-1 package as I bought all three at Goodwill and want to read them all.  I love Joyce Meyer’s books.  I have three of her devotional books and they ALL have always seemed to speak to me at times when I really needed it.  She explains and simplifies things to me like no one else can.  For some reason, I don’t care to watch her on TV, but I do like her books.  I’ve read How to Hear from God once before and it’s one of those books I knew I would read again.  It’s so full of information (and some of it’s pretty deep) that I need to take more time with it… dissect it a little further if you will.

10.  My Story– by Elizabeth Smart

My Story

I’m waiting for this one to come out in paperback.  Elizabeth Smart went through such a horrifying ordeal.  Sometimes I wonder how she was able to survive it.  I haven’t heard too much about her book but saw it in Target recently and it made me curious.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ten Books I Want to Read in 2014

  1. TrishaDM says:

    Ah, “The Fault In Our Stars”… Yes, read it!!!
    I want to read “Kisses From Katie” and “The Kitchen House” too.
    Hopefully you get a chance to read all of these!

    • Gail says:

      I believe your blog was one of the blogs that convinced me I needed to read “The Fault in Our Stars.” I’m looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

