Menu Planning

I love to menu plan although I will admit, I don’t always make time for it.  I don’t do it every week although I’m making a conscious effort to get better at that in 2014.  It does take a little time to sit down and actually do the planning but I find that overall it makes the week and the grocery shopping flow a lot more smoothly.

After I make out my menu for the week, I then sit down and make out my grocery list. And you know what I’ve noticed?  My grocery bill is just about always less when I menu plan!  I will mention also that I do not cook 7 days a week.  I average cooking 5 days a week.  One day a week we dine out or get carry out, and usually one day of the week we eat leftovers (of which we usually have plenty)!

After I plan the menu, I copy  it down on one of the very cute printable menu planners off of the website http://www.heavenlyhomemakers.com.  I love, love, love this site.  Check it out!  There are free printable menu planners.  Also, if you have trouble with planning your actual menus (deciding what you want to have), there is a section on weekly menus complete with examples.

After I fill out my menu plan for the week, I hang it on the refrigerator with a magnetic clip.  That way hubby (and my two college boys, when they are home) can see what’s on the menu for the night.  I love it because I don’t have to rack my brain out to decide what I’m going to have for dinner.   To me, that’s the hardest part of preparing meals…. trying to decide what to have that everyone will eat.  Although that part’s easier now that it’s usually just hubby and me.  

I challenge you to try menu planning for a few weeks and see if you like it.  I agree it’s not for everyone.  It does take time but in the long run, I think it helps keep this cook more organized.  And I need all the help I can get.

My menu plan for the week of January 12th-18th.

My menu plan for the week of January 12th-18th.

Gail ♥

 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Menu Planning

  1. TrishaDM says:

    Nice! Menu planning is something I feel like I should get in to. I feel like we waste a lot because I buy things for what I might feel like cooking, but don’t always get around to making it all before it goes bad. It would be easier on the pocketbook.
    My problem is, well, for one my schedule is not predictable. But even worse than that, I am a moody eater. I want to eat what I “feel” like, not what I planned necessarily. Must learn.

    • Gail says:

      I understand completely! Sometimes I will admit, I’m not in the mood for what’s on the menu plan for dinner that night but the next night looks good (or is easier to prepare)! So I switch it around sometimes. I’ve done the shopping for the week and I have everything I need so why not?

      Some people menu plan breakfast, lunch AND dinners for the entire week. I don’t think I could do that. I rarely eat three meals a day and lunch is often grab something and go. I feel like I’m doing good just being able to plan dinners for the week.

Leave a Reply

