Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately)

Today’s daily prompt:  What’s the household task you most dislike doing? Why do you think that is — is it the task itself, or something more?

I’m not a great housekeeper (I inherited that trait from my mother I’m quite sure). There’s lots of household tasks I dislike but the one that’s on top of my list is cleaning mini blinds.  Ugh.  What a job.  I usually take them outside, lay them on the driveway on a blanket and use my husband’s pressure washer.  Then I find somewhere to hang them so they can drip dry.  After hanging them back up in the window, it seems within a month, they’re already crappy looking.  It seems it’s a lot of work with not a lot to show for it and it has to be done much too often to suit me.  This is why I’m slowly getting rid of the mini blinds in this house.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately)

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. TrishaDM says:

    Confession… I had miniblinds in my old apartment and I am pretty sure the best I ever did with respect to cleaning them for the 3 years we lived there was wipe them with a damp cloth.
    We don’t have them at our current place because of the cleaning issue, but also because the people who built the building found humour in making our windows all very tall, recessed with lovely wide ledges and with concrete walls… Suboptimal for hanging anything, but blinds are particularly challenging. We just have curtains now. This reminds me that I need to wash them.

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Home | The Wandering Poet

  5. Relax says:

    I’m not wild about mini-blinds and, ask anyone, I would not dream of cleaning them! I recently went looking for replacement roller shades..*sigh.. I do believe those went the way of the 8-track player! I am making do with drapes in the downstairs windows, but shades were so easy.. *sigh…

    • Gail says:

      I agree. I replaced the mini blinds in my den with a bamboo shade. I like it much better than the mini blinds and it’s much easier to clean! If only I could afford them in every room…. maybe one day.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt; Home: I just hate it! | Words 'n Pics...

Leave a Reply

