Monday’s Question

 

Does anyone play board games anymore?  I have very fond memories as a child growing up playing board games with my sisters, my parents, and my neighborhood friends.  We spent countless hours playing checkers (both regular and Chinese checkers), Sorry, Monopoly, Trouble, Aggravation, Hurry Up, Game of Life, etc.  Two very memorable games I played in my childhood were Pop Yer Top and Hide-N-Seek.

GamePopYerTop  Hide N' Seek game

As a teenager and while dating my husband, we spent many a date sitting in the living room playing board games. We still joke today that doing that kept us out of a lot of trouble.  Backgammon was our game but we played checkers and lots of other games too.  When we were dating, Atari came out and was oh so popular and we did spend countless hours playing Pong, Centipede, Asteroids, and Space Invaders.   When we married and before having kids, we spent many an evening with other couples playing fun board games like Taboo, Scrabble, Scattergories, and Pictionary.  We laughed until we were spewing our beverages out our mouths and nostrils.  I recall with fond memories, a good friend who even wet her pants due to laughing so hard during one of our games of Taboo (if you’ve never played that, you really ought to give it a try sometime).

Jenga  pictionary

When children came along, we introduced them to board games too.  Hi Ho Cherry O, Guess Who, and Hungry Hippos were always favorites when they were younger.  As they grew a little they enjoyed Aggravation, Sorry, Trouble, Trivial Pursuit, Apples to Apples, Scattergories, checkers and chess.  When my oldest son was in his second year of college, tornadoes struck very close to campus knocking out the power for several days.  This happened during final exam week and exams ended up being cancelled.  My son and his friends enjoyed playing board games during the power failure (by emergency generator lights) and from his description, they had a lot of fun.  I think Settlers of Catan is a favorite with the college kids today as is Apples to Apples.

SettlersofCatan  Apples to Apples

With the popularity of video games and internet games, I’m not even sure kids play board games anymore.  To me, that’s a little sad.  I still have a closet full of board games and I told my husband recently, that we needed to start having some “board game date nights.”  So we plan to dust off our many games and let the fun begin!

Question:  What are some of your favorite board games (either from childhood or in the present)?

My Answer:  

  1. Scattergories
  2. Taboo
  3. Game of Life
  4. Kerplunk (not really a BOARD game but fun all the same)
  5. Jenga (not really a BOARD game either but great fun and good for lots of laughs)
  6. Scrabble
  7. Trivial Pursuit
  8. Apples to Apples
  9. Sorry
  10. Aggravation

What are some of your favorites?

Trouble game Kerplunk game

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Childhood memories, Family, Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. quarksire says:

    well, 57 years old here u hit a lotta memoriues i forgot i had lol.very kewl post-it 🙂 hasta… Q totally forgot bout pop ur top since the werld has turnt into a big giant monopoly game lol 🙂

    • Gail says:

      We’re just about the same age so I guess we remember the same ole games. Pop Yer Top was so awesome, huh? I remember the commercials to that game well. I still remember begging my parents for it for Christmas! And boy, was I ever happy to find it under the tree that year! My sisters and I along with the neighborhood kids wore that game out!

      • quarksire says:

        yes my belief is ..our grandkids will never get to experience the kewl times of black an white,, no inter net an a closet ful of games lol. wow huh. 🙂

  2. Monopoly, definitely. We play Scrabble a bit, Taboo and apples to apples. Game night is a great idea!

  3. I don’t know some of the games you mentioned here. I don’t think they were available South Africa. We played a lot of monopoly when we were children. My little daughter loves her board games 🙂

    • Gail says:

      I think all the ones I mentioned are still available here in the states except the children’s games Pop Yer Top and Hide N-Seek (I played those back in the 60s). 🙂

Leave a Reply

