Going Obsolete

Today’s daily prompt:  Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?

There’s a lot I miss from the “good ole days.”  But the first thing that came to mind after reading this prompt is the Atari game console and games.  My husband and I were dating and in our later teenage years when he purchased his Atari console.  We spent many a fun hour sitting on the floor in front of the TV playing Pong, Space Invaders, Ms. Pac-Man, Pitfall, and Asteroids, just to name a few.  We still have his old console and games but couldn’t get it to work many years ago when we tried to hook it up to our old TV.

photo credit: Wikipedia

photo credit: Wikipedia

I also miss playing all  my old vinyl albums.   I still have them all and hubby has his but we have no way to play them.  I also miss VHS players.  I have a ton of VHS tapes that I’ve tried selling at yard sales but I’ve about decided you can’t give those darn things away.

Gail ♥

 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Going Obsolete

  1. I tried to sell my vhs tapes but no one wants them, even free

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Going Obsolete – Why not? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. enitsirk24 says:

    I had this console too. I was hooked on two games…Maze Craze and Kaboom. Oh, the good ‘ol days.

  4. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Going Obsolete | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  5. Looks like we belong to the same generation. I miss these stuff. Yes, they may be obsolete now but they will always hold a special memory of our happy nostalgic past. I don’t know if you notice but the home phone with answering machine is also being replaced now by cell phone…I mean smartphone. Technology changes so quick it’s so hard to catch up.

    • Gail says:

      I told my husband I hope we always will keep our land line phone. We are not cell phone lovers at all. We still have “dumb” phones and no texting capabilities. Guess we need to get “with it” and into the 21st century, but I despise talking on cell phones. Everything sounds garbled to me and I’m constantly saying, “what, what?” I’ve sort of lost my desire to even keep up with technology now….. seems I’m always behind. I’ve turned into my mother.

Leave a Reply

