Pick Me Up

The daily prompt:  What is the one word or phrase that immediately cheers you up when you hear it?    

When my father passed away 20 years ago, I did not deal with my grief very well.  Several months after his death, I found myself in a clinical psychologist’s office where I received help in dealing with his death which had spiraled me into a pretty deep and dark depression.  I was in a black hole and I couldn’t seem to climb out.  I reached a point when I knew I needed help so I took a deep breath and I went.

In no time at all, I became very attached to this therapist.  She helped me a great deal… not just with the death of my father, but with many things in my life.  I saw her again when my mother was terminal and dying of cancer.  I saw her when I had to put my 16-year-old dog to sleep.  I saw her when I became very unhappy in my job and needed some career advice.  She always showed so much kindness and compassion and was always professional.  I ended up seeing her on and off for many, many years.  She was just always so nice to me.  I felt safe with her and safe in her office.  I felt I had a great rapport with her.  She heard things about my life that I had never told another single person.  She dried tears that no one else knew were even there.  And she got me through some very hard times in my life.  There was nothing about me that this woman didn’t know and I guess I felt a special bond with her because of that.

At the end of our sessions, we often shared a hug right before I would walk out the door, and it was then that she would often say, “We will get you through this.”  Those six words were always very comforting to me.  Those six words gave me so much hope.  Those six words got me through times when I felt nothing but despair.  I found myself looking forward to hearing those six little words at the end of my sessions.  Sounds kinda silly, huh?

I remember getting so much support at the end of my mother’s life from this particular therapist.  I needed her and she knew it.  She went above and beyond.   She called almost daily to see how I was and to get an update on my mother’s condition.  She sent me cards and notes in the mail.  I remember one day after a particular rough day at the hospice residence with my mother when I was feeling utterly exhausted.  I had been in a hyper-vigilant state, essentially waiting for my mother to die for weeks which turned into months.  My mother fought death with all her might and she lingered.  We were told many times that she was very near death, only to have her rally and pull through.  It was hard to see the daily suffering.  Hard knowing there was no hope.  And there was no hope because three different cancers were ravishing her body.  We had been told by her oncologist that there was nothing that could be done.  I wanted very much to be with my mother at the end of her life and so at times I didn’t want to leave the hospice residence.  But I had two teenagers at home who needed their mom and who weren’t getting to see their mom much at all.  When I was at home, I felt guilty that I wasn’t at the hospice residence with my mother.  When I was at the hospice residence, I felt guilty that I wasn’t at home with my sons and my husband.  It was a stressful time, as anyone who has ever been a caregiver while trying to also take care of their own family will know.

But I remember going home after this very stressful and emotional day and was just so exhausted.  I was wondering how much longer I could do this.  I opened the mailbox as I pulled into the driveway that night.  There I found a card from this therapist.   I opened it up and there were those six words:  We will get you through this!  That was exactly what I needed to hear at that exact moment.  Those six little words cheered me up and gave me hope to face the next day.

Gail ♥

d or phrase that immediately cheers you up when you hear it?cheers you up when you hear it?

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pick Me Up

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pick Me Up – Yesssssssss | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Words of kindness and encouragement, no matter how short help us go through our darkest moments. Thanks for sharing these story. Somehow it make us feel we are not alone in the many hard, sad moments of life. God bless my friend.

    • Gail says:

      I found that card the other day while going through a drawer. It brought tears because I remember how it had given me the courage to face another difficult day.

Leave a Reply

