Monday’s Question

Question:  Are you a dog person or a cat person?  

My answer:  I got asked this A LOT as a practicing veterinarian and being completely honest, I always strongly disliked this question.  It’s a no-win question to be asked as a veterinarian.  A vet school professor told me once, if you tell people you’re a cat person, you automatically offend the dog lovers and vice versa.  Frankly, I always wondered why you have to be one or the other and I felt people were asking me “to choose” between dogs or cats.  I couldn’t!

I once had a client who was the owner of multiple cats who quit coming to me once she realized I didn’t own any cats of my own.   I had owned cats before but explained I now owned two dogs, one of which was a German Shepherd who despised cats!  I guess she viewed my lack of cat ownership as a flaw or thought that I wasn’t a cat lover.  Or maybe she thought I lacked knowledge of cats and therefore wouldn’t be “capable” of treating her cats.  But for whatever reason, she took her business to another veterinarian in the practice who owned a cat.

I once knew a veterinarian who refused to display either dog or cat portraits in his clinic for fear of offending clients or appearing biased to one or the other.  He used to say that if he hung a portrait of a German Shepherd in the waiting room, would he offend the Doberman lovers?  Or the Collie lovers?  Or the Chihuahua lovers?  On one hand, it seemed a little silly, but on the other hand, I could almost see his point!  I sure couldn’t argue because he proved to me more than once that he knew people.

I happen to love both dogs and cats and have enjoyed having both as pets. So I honestly can’t say I’m a dog person or I’m a cat person.  I happen to have cats now but hope to one day own a dog again.  In my opinion, both make the world a happier place.

dogcathammock

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. I agree, Gail. Both are special 🙂

  2. I’m a Mother & Father Nature person, from elephants, rhinos, and hippos down to the little mosquito and ant.

Leave a Reply

