Same Auld Lang Syne

I sleep with a radio on most nights (when my husband doesn’t have the sound machine on) and have it on a station now that plays only Christmas music.  This morning I awoke to Dan Fogelberg’s  Same Auld Lang Syne.  This is one of my favorite songs of all times and I’m so thankful I got to see this very talented artist sing it in person.  Hearing it on the radio this morning took me back to a time a few years ago when my sisters and I went to Peoria, Illinois (where Dan Fogelberg is from– we were there for a Dan Fogelberg Memorial Dedication weekend).  While there, they were giving trolley tours and one of the stops on the tour was the store in this song.  My sisters and I didn’t actually go on the trolley tour but we purposefully did seek out and drove to the store mentioned in this song.  The store is actually a convenience store mart and was still in business at the time. Then we drove by the liquor store also mentioned in the song (which I recall was right around the corner and not far from the store).  There was just something special and hauntingly beautiful about actually being there.   I truly love this song.

 

♥Gail

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Holidays, Memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Same Auld Lang Syne

  1. enitsirk24 says:

    That is one of my favorite songs too. It would be neat to see the store in person, but somehow I think it would mess up the fantasy I have in my head as one of the people in the song.

    • Gail says:

      Yes it would. I had a vision in my head of what the store looked like but it was nothing like that at all. Like I mentioned in my post, it’s not actually a grocery store, but a very small convenience mart. No frozen food section as in the song. You can look up the origins of the song on Wikipedia (it was very interesting to read). Dan Fogelberg had gone to get some irish Creme for his mother when he ran into his old girlfriend. Don’t you know his mother was wondering what in the world happened to him? We met her on our trip…. a very sweet and kind lady. The day we were there, they had this song playing continuously in the store.

  2. What a beautiful song 🙂 Pawkisses for a Merry Christmas 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

