Things I learned in 2014

It’s hard to believe that 2014 is coming to an end very soon.  I thought I would sit down and make a list of what I learned (or relearned) this year.  It’s certainly not a comprehensive list by any means, but things I grabbed off the top of my head.  I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions anymore but I do enjoy the feeling of a New Year.  Here’s hoping 2015 is a good one!

  1. I was once again reminded how painful kidney stones are. This year started out with a bang when my husband developed a kidney stone in January (his 4th if I’m not mistaken) and my son, who was away at college got one 4 weeks later.  My husband passed his.  My son’s was more stubborn and he had to have surgery to have his removed.  I’m hoping January of 2015 won’t start out quite as exciting.
  2. I learned to be careful what I wish for.  I had wanted a ceramic flat-topped stove for quite some time.  But when my old reliable 26-year-old GE stove with the coiled burners conked out in the middle of a pot of chili, and I finally got that new flat-topped stove I had wanted, I realized how I loved that old stove and how perfectly it seemed to cook things.  I thought the flat-tops would be a breeze to clean. They’re not.  I also thought they would cook faster.  They don’t.  Eleven months later, I’m still trying to adjust to my “new” stove.  It seems the older I get, I don’t seem to do well with change.
  3.  I love reading books by Joyce Meyer.  I read four of her books in 2014 and continue to read three of her devotionals on a daily basis.  She seems to speak to me with her writing and explains things in such a simple way that I can better understand.  It seems light bulbs are always going off when I read her writing.
  4. It’s amazing how professionals can spend hundreds of dollars on continuing education seminars and then instead of listening to the speaker, they spend the entire session on their cell phones.  Why can’t people stay off their phones for even an hour?
  5. Four year old children have an incredible amount of energy.  I witnessed this at my great nieces 4th birthday party.  It made me wish I could somehow bottle up some of that energy and sell it!!!
  6. Spending time with two of your ninety something year old aunts and hearing them tell stories about your dad that you’ve never heard before and who is no longer living is priceless.  Just priceless.
  7. Visiting a little country church in a small town of Indiana on a Sunday morning and having the parishioners treat you like family and like they’ve known you forever and having them say prayers for your safe travels right in the middle of the church service is so heartwarming.  Visiting this little church awakened me to the true meaning of the word “hospitality” and “Christian Fellowship.”
  8. Grieving is a very normal and necessary part of losing something or someone we love. But living in a spirit of grief is NOT normal or healthy. Thank you Joyce Meyer for making me realize that I was living in a spirit of grief and many thanks to the counselor who helped me see that I needed to face the facts and move forward instead of dwelling on the past.
  9. It’s amazing  how two little 1 1/2 lb. kittens can bring so much love and laughter to a grieving heart.  I relearned how very funny kittens can be.  Yes, I had forgotten.  Oh, how they make me laugh.
  10. It’s mind-boggling how much two little 1 1/2 lb. kittens can poop and pee.   Oh. my. goodness.
  11. Sometimes no matter how hard we try not to mess up and disappoint people, we’re going to do it.  We’re not perfect.  In life, there will be disappointments and trials.  No one is immune from those.
  12. Just sitting with a mug of hot chocolate or hot tea in the wintertime can be pure joy.  
  13. I have the nicest, kindest, most compassionate, and hardest working doctor in the world.  I’m truly convinced of that.
  14. It’s good to just get away to the mountains every now and then to refresh our souls, if only for a weekend.
  15. I love Halloween.  Always have, always will.
  16. There’s not much I enjoy more in the fall than walking in the woods and admiring the trees in all their autumn glory.   My husband and I often hike in state parks in the fall.  I love the cool chill in the air and the crunch of leaves under my feet.
  17.  Watching your son “finish” his college days by walking across a stage to accept his Master’s Degree in Aerospace Engineering, makes a mom very happy and proud.  And knowing that he paid for graduate school all with his own money and didn’t ask his parents for a dime (even though we would have been happy to help) makes me even prouder.      
  18. Moving your son into his own apartment where he will no longer be a college student but a full-time working man brings such mixed emotions.  It’s a bittersweet time.  
  19. Watching kittens play with Christmas paper, bows, and boxes is hilarious.  In fact, I can’t think of much better entertainment.   Never a dull moment with kittens around.
  20. Having both sons home for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day is heavenly.  Having my youngest son email me from his dorm a few days before Christmas to tell me that he’s missed me and that he can’t wait to come home and telling me he loves me so much, just means the world to me and makes me feel so blessed.  It was the best Christmas present I could have ever and we all know moms love “those” kind of presents!
  21. A kitten can unroll an entire roll of toilet paper in 3 seconds flat.  Ask me how I know this.
  22. Cooking a turkey breast in a crock pot is the way to go.  I’ve  never done this before until this year and it was absolutely delicious  and ever so tender.  SO easy!  I’ll for sure be doing this again.
  23. The focus of my Christmas season needs to be on the real reason for Christmas– Jesus Christ.  I try so hard every year to not get caught up in the hustle and bustle and all the madness– the shopping, the rushing, the overspending, etc.  It’s not easy and something I have to make a conscientious effort to work on each year.
  24. TV is getting really raunchy.  I’m glad my mother is not alive to see how bad it’s become.   I’ve also learned not to go see any movies with an R rating in the movie theaters.  Rated R movies have really only become rated X movies in disguise.
  25. I need to spend a lot more of my time reading God’s word and spend more time with Him in prayer.  (This was not actually something I learned this year, but relearned).  And by far, it’s the most important thing!

What did you learn in 2014?  I hope you all have a wonderful New Year!

2015

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Memories, New Years Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I learned in 2014

  1. Relax says:

    Wonderful! Happy New year, Gail.

  2. Gail says:

    Happy New Year to you too!

Leave a Reply

