Ten Books I Want to Read in 2015

1.  Unbroken– By Laura Hillenbrand

unbroken-cover-1

I’ve seen this book on several #1 best seller lists in 2014.  A friend loaned me his copy to read.  It’s next on my list when I finish up with the book I’m currently reading.  He said it was really good but “brutal” at times so I decided I needed to wait until after the holidays to read it.  I read Seabiscuit by this same author and loved it.

2.  24/6: A Prescription for a Healthier, Happier Life– By Matthew Sleeth, MD

1414372280

Another book I’ve wanted to read for a while.  I’ve seen it on several blogs I read and overall, it’s received very good reviews.  It’s about observing the Sabbath.

3.  Anne of Green Gables-  by L.M. Montgomery

anneofgreengablescover

I’ve seen the series on TV but never actually read the book.  It’s been on my shelf for years.  I think it’s about time I read it.

4.  My Bright Shining Star– By Rhonda Sellers Elkins

My Bright Shining Star
This is a book that will without a doubt be very hard to read, but hard NOT to read.  It’s a true story and just a heart-wrenching, tragic one at that.  I came across Rhonda’s wordpress blog (by the same title) and read her story.  It touched me so much I could think of nothing else for days.  It absolutely floored me, saddened me, shocked me, and touched me.  It is the true story of Rhonda’s daughter, Kaitlyn, a brilliant and gifted 3rd year medical student who seemed to have it all and her whole life ahead of her.  Then Kaitlyn commits suicide and Rhonda’s life is never the same.  After reading Rhonda’s blog, my eyes were open to the sad statistics that this happens all too commonly in the medical profession- with medical students as well as physicians.  I felt like I knew this woman after reading her blog and something inside of me wanted to reach out to her. But sadly, Rhonda committed suicide herself on 8/29/14.  I bought two copies of Rhonda’s book.  It was another one I could not force myself to read right before Christmas.  But I think Rhonda’s story, tragic and sad as it is, desperately needs to be told.

5. Spiritual Misfit by Michelle DeRusha

Spiritual-Misfit-1024x1579

I first saw this book mentioned on Ann Voskamp’s blog, A Holy Experience.  I’ve since seen it on other blogs.  I bought it recently and it’s just waiting to be read.

6.  Dewey’s Nine Lives– by Vicki Myron

I loved her book Dewey: the Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World.  Never has a book made me cry like that one did.  I found this book at Goodwill and well, I just had to be a glutton for punishment, so yes, I bought it.  I’m a sucker for all these animal  stories.

7.  A Grief Observed– by C.S. Lewis

a-grief-observed3

In short, I have a list of C.S. Lewis books I’ve wanted to read and this was one of them.

8.  Choose Love– by Stormie Omartian

Choose-Love

I haven’t read a Stormie Omartian book that I didn’t just love so I’m looking forward to reading this one.  I absolutely love her prayers.

9.  The Innocent Man– by John Grisham

The_Innocent_Man_jacket_cover

A friend told me about this book and highly recommended it.  It sounded good and though I don’t usually like to read books about murder, this one sounded interesting, especially since it’s a true story.  I’ve also never read any John Grisham books so this one is a good one to start with.  The fact that I found a Like New hardback copy at Goodwill for $1.99 didn’t hurt matters either!

10.  I Want God: Forever Changed by the Revival of Your Soul by Lisa Whittle

I-Want-God-Forever-Changed-by-the-Revival-of-Your-Soul-Hardcover-P9780736959209

I read about this book on Goodreads.  Then I looked it up on Amazon.  It has great reviews and  I kept seeing the word “life changing” associated with it.  Definitely a book I want to read.

Do you have any good books you’re planning to read in 2015?

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ten Books I Want to Read in 2015

  1. Relax says:

    They all sound very engaging! Let us know your reviews, as you read them! I picked up a paperback at Goodwill on Thomas Merton, “Thomas Merton, Monk,” by A Doubleday Image Book. It’s a 15-part tribute written by folks who knew, worked with or lived with him, all up close and personal. Riveting, so far. After this, DH got a Dave Barry book for Christmas, so I’ll certainly be borrowing that!

    • Gail says:

      Sounds very interesting! I love Dave Berry…. my mom loved him too. He used to have a column in our local newspaper and I could always tell when my mother was reading it. She would laugh until she was literally crying. He’s a hoot!

Leave a Reply

