Fifteen Things I Miss Most About My Mother

2roses

It seems the older I get, the more I think about my mother, especially around Mother’s Day.  She’s been gone over 8 years now.  I was thinking about her while driving to the store today.  I have to be honest in admitting that I dread walking into the grocery store around Mother’s Day.  It’s like getting sucker punched in the gut as once again, I’m hit with the reality that my mother’s no longer on this earth.  You never really get used to them no longer being here, or I sure haven’t anyway.  In the store, there’s the Happy Mother’s Day balloons, and the extra flowers they have sitting out in front to catch your eye as you walk in the store, the Mother’s Day cakes I see as I pass the bakery, and the Mother’s Day cards in the greeting card aisle.  All of that somehow makes me feel cheated because there’s no longer a mother around to buy those things for.  On the way home today I started thinking about some of the things I miss most about my mother.

  1. Her smile, which was genuine and beautiful.
  2. Her voice and especially that southern drawl she had.  How she’d call me on the phone and when I’d pick up and say hello, I’d hear, “Dahlin, it’s mother.”
  3. Her cooking and watching her stand at her avocado green stove.
  4. Watching her watch Jeopardy on TV and  how she could answer every single blasted question.
  5. Listening to her talk about “the olden days.”  I wish now I would have asked more questions.
  6. Watching her put on her make-up and how she puckered her lips and did that soft whistle of hers.
  7. Discussing the daily crossword puzzles with her from the local newspaper.
  8. Listening to her tell stories about her many adventures working as a hostess at the Grand Ole Opry for 27 years.  She could have written a book.  And oh, how she made us laugh with those stories.
  9. Her kitchen collection of roosters and chickens, and how happy they made her.
  10. Hearing her sing at night when she loaded the dishwasher.
  11. Her wit and how she could make total strangers laugh.
  12. Being with her on holidays.
  13. Sitting next to her in church.
  14. Her random acts of kindness…. like how she would take a batch of homemade chocolate chip cookies to the fire station and the firemen down the road.
  15. Going to eat at The Ole Dinner Bell with her.

Sometimes I want to shout out to people who still have their mothers to not take one single moment for granted.  Enjoy every waking moment and spend what time you can with your mother because she won’t always be here.  And when she’s gone, you’ll miss her like crazy.  Even if your relationship is a little rocky and not always ideal and you get on each other’s nerves sometimes, make an effort to honor her in a way that you’ll have no regrets when she’s gone.

“Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be long upon the land which the LORD your God is giving you.”  (Exodus 20:12)

Happy Mother’s Day.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Grief, Motherhood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fifteen Things I Miss Most About My Mother

  1. enitsirk24 says:

    Beautiful memories. Thank you for sharing; I visualized your mom and can see her beauty in your description.

  2. Me says:

    Thank you for sharing this. It is wonderful that you had a relationship with your mother that was a gift to you and that now means a sense of loss for you. It’s the way it should be. It’s a shame not everyone gets to experience a mother’s love and her presence that way. I’m sorry for your sadness, but glad you felt loved. 💗

    • Gail says:

      Thanks for reading. Yesterday was a double whammy…. besides being Mother’s Day, it also happened to be the 21 years since my dad had passed away. He died May 10, 1994. I can hardly believe he’s been gone that long. I miss both my parents so much but I guess grief is the price we pay for love.

Leave a Reply

