Things I’m Loving These Days

1.  Coconut Oil and Coconut Manna

I’ve finally made the switch from cooking with corn oil to coconut oil.  I’m one of those who loves coconut in everything and can eat the oil plain right out of the jar (coconut oil is a solid at room temperature).  The benefits of coconut oil are endless it seems (maybe that will be a topic for another blog post).  The Nutiva virgin organic coconut oil is 100% less cholesterol than butter!  Besides cooking, I’ve read that it’s great for hair, skin and nails.  I now put it in my coffee.  Coconut Manna contains the “meat” of the coconut which has been pureed.  It’s actually the same thing as coconut butter, just renamed.  This stuff is delicious!  I eat a tablespoon of it daily.  It’s also good in smoothies, sauces, and oatmeal.

coconut oil coconut manna

2.  Watching Golden Girls DVDs

This show is so hilarious and never fails to make me laugh.  I think I like it more now than I did when I watched it back in the 80s.  Maybe because I’m a golden girl myself now!  🙂

golden-girls-dvd

3.  Rereading the Little House on the Prairie Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

I don’t think I will ever tire of rereading these, and besides, it’s fun reliving my childhood.

BoxSetHardback

4.  Mosaic owl night-light

I came across this little gem in Gatlinburg last fall.  My sweet mother-in-law purchased it and gave it to me for Christmas.  I’m loving it in my living room…. it has the perfect ambiance but is equally pretty when it’s not on too.

058

5.  Latest pig mugs in my kitchen pig collection

My mother-in-law found this mug at Cracker Barrel.  Too cute!!

014

My friend Abby, who knows I collect pigs,  gave this mug to me last Christmas (we were both born in the year of the pig). I love the size!

038   037

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Things I'm Loving These Days and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Things I’m Loving These Days

  1. Tony says:

    Welcome to the coconut oil club! I have been a member for more than a year. Start every morning with a tablespoon of peanut butter dipped in coconut oil before I go ride me bike. BTW, my HDL (the good) cholesterol, went up after I started using coconut oil. I also used it to help heal the scar on my face from surgery.

    • Gail says:

      Glad to hear you are reaping the benefits of coconut oil Tony! I have some scars I would like to use it on too as I heard it it great for that. I have used it on my face (heard it is good for bags under the eyes) but found it to be too greasy. I’m not smart enough to figure out a way to use it on certain scars and not have it get all over my clothes or the sheets at night if I put it on at bedtime!

      • Tony says:

        There are also cocoa butter sticks that they sell at drugstores and also Amazon. They cost less than $2 each and are solid, so you can rub them on your scar any time and have no residue.

      • Gail says:

        Thanks! I’ve never heard of or seen the sticks so will check into that. The coconut manna I have is really coconut butter so I imagine it would work (it didn’t even cross my mind to try that).

  2. immimarsh says:

    I love coconut oil too- it’s simply amazing! check out my latest post on it 🙂 http://immimarsh.com/2015/05/18/my-love-for-coconut-oil-its-many-uses/ xx

Leave a Reply

