Blasts From the Past

I must be the most sentimental and sappy person on the face of this earth.  I can see things from my childhood that bring back happy memories and next thing I know, I’m grabbing for the tissues.  I mean, when’s the last time you teared up over a bottle of vintage shampoo?  I rest my case.

These are things that I remember during my earlier years and that I wish were still available today.  Maybe I’m dating myself but if you’re old enough when these products were around,  maybe you’ll remember them too.

1. Body on Tap Shampoo

body-on-tap

This shampoo was made in the 70s by Bristol-Myers and was actually made with real beer. I remember it being a very thick and sudsy shampoo and loved the way it cleaned my hair.

2.  Lemon- Up Shampoo 

lemon up shampoo and conditioner

This shampoo was made with the juice of real lemons.  Talk about smelling good!  I loved this stuff and I don’t know why it was taken off the market.  And the marketing design on the bottle was pretty clever, don’t you think?

3.  Heaven Sent Perfume

Heaven Sent perfume

This is my all-time favorite perfume scent.  It is still around but was reformulated in the 1990s by Dana and doesn’t smell the same as the original Heaven Sent made by Helena Rubinstein.  This was so popular among the girls in my neighborhood in the 1970s.

4.  White Go-Go boots from the 1960s

photo from etsy.com

photo from etsy.com

I was on cloud 9 the day my mother bought me a pair of white Go-Go boots.  I was in the 5th grade.  My girlfriend had a pair and we thought we were hot stuff.   The original Go-Go boots came to the mid-calf and were short heeled.  I only recall them being white but I think when they came out again in the 90s, they came in different colors and had higher heels.  Surprisingly, these things were very comfortable!

5.  Seven-Up Candy bars

sevenupbar

Why oh why they ever stopped making these I’ll never understand but they were retired in 1979.  They were made with 7 different sections all containing a different flavor.  There was cherry, coconut, caramel, fudge, jelly, maple, and Brazil nut.  They came in milk chocolate (brown wrapper) and dark chocolate (black wrapper).  These were such a treat!

6.  Green apple perfume

It seemed people either loved this stuff or hated it.  I loved it.  My mother hated it.  I kept the empty decorative bottle for the longest time.

7.  Ride-A-Roos

photo credit: eBay.com

photo credit: eBay.com

This is way up on my list as one of my favorite toys.  These things were amazingly strong and could withstand a lot of “torture.”  Mine survived all kinds of terrain not to mention all the neighborhood kids.

I could go on and on but I’ll stop for now.  Do you remember any of these things?

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blasts From the Past

  1. Relax says:

    I had to laugh — I wear Heaven Sent perfume every day! Just a wee spritz on the inside of both wrists. Mine seems to smell like I remember it from when I first smelled it on a friend walking into my house from the cold. The “Seven Up” bar — could they really be mean enough to take that from us?? Well, they took Welch’s (I think) “Rum Frappe” bar, too. Do you remember those? And oh, Lord — white go-go boots! LOL. Cousin and I got the knockoff kind, but they were white and were go go boots, which we so proudly wore with our puffy madras jackets… man, we had some comfy clothes in our day!

    • Gail says:

      I am almost out of my Heaven Sent and it’s an old bottle. I’ve heard they made the Heaven Sent by Dana more “woodsy” smelling. I always liked the sweet, soft, powdery scent it had! I do not remember the Welch’s rum frappe bar but looked it up and found a blog about it. LOL! http://www.collectingcandy.com/wordpress/?p=16092
      Yes, we did have comfy clothes back in the day!

      • Relax says:

        Omigosh, that Frappe Bar post is amazing–I never thought to look it up! Thank you! As for my Heaven Sent, it is indeed made by Dana and smells the same to me — and my kids have said it smells like sweet baby powder, so apparently it hasn’t changed too much — I’d give it a try when you run out of your present one.

      • Gail says:

        Glad to hear that the Heaven Sent by Dana still smells the same. Will definitely give it a try! It’s not as easy to find anymore but saw some at Kmart recently.

  2. Mati Serrano says:

    I don’t drink beer but I’d like to use the beer shampoo. 😀

Leave a Reply

