Monday’s Question

Question:  What’s the last book you read and what did you think?

My Answer:  The Martian by Andy Weir.

The Martian

This book was recommended to me by my oldest son who, as an aerospace engineer, was understandably intrigued by it.  And rightfully so.  He said there was a lot of hype over this book in Huntsville, AL which is home to the NASA Marshall Space Flight Center.  While I am not usually into Science Fiction, this book sounded like it would be very good.  And it was.  Who wouldn’t be curious about an astronaut who was mistaken for dead and stranded on Mars by his fellow astronauts, and then has to learn how to survive on what little resources he has while hoping a rescue is imminent?  I liked this book and it was very obvious to me that Andrew Weir is quite brilliant.  The research he had to have done just to accomplish writing this book is impressive.  And like the movie (which was also very good), it made me laugh.  Having said all that, the one big turn-off for me in this book was the profanity used.  It came close to ruining it for me.  A friend of mine, who is reading the book now, told me last night that she wished the author didn’t feel the need for the bad language because it adds nothing to the story.  I couldn’t agree more.

Gail ♥

 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. Relax says:

    I think that book could make me feel claustrophobic! I’m afraid the last whole book I read was years ago, now: The Shipping News, by E. Annie Proulx. It was 100 times better than the movie, which I thankfully read long before viewing. In the book, Quoyle is a smaller-than-life character, so I like the movie version for Quoyle’s greater normalcy, but in almost every other way, the movie differed dismally from the writer’s brilliance.

    I have a (nearly related!) question for you. I peruse a book for readability by scanning a number of middle pages — if these pique my interest, I will read it. How do you determine if a book is worth a read?

    • Gail says:

      It varies how I pick a book. If I hear a lot of people giving it favorable reviews, I’ll usually try it. Oftentimes, I get on Amazon or Goodreads and check out the reviews and ratings. I’ve always heard to read the first page and if you like it, you’ll probably like the book. Don’t know if that’s true, but I’ve heard that forever. I usually always like the book better than the movie version, but with The Martian, I think I almost liked the movie better. The book at times really bogged me down with too much science talk. And don’t get me wrong…. I love science!

Leave a Reply

