Resolved

Today’s daily wordpress prompt:  Have you ever made a New Year’s Resolution that you kept?

I’m not much of a New Year’s Resolution maker, especially now that I’m older (and hopefully wiser).  I have made resolutions in the past–typical resolutions like resolving to eat healthier, lose weight, read more, get more organized, etc., etc., etc.  Some of these I’ve kept, some I haven’t.

This year, I’ve decided to join those who instead of making Resolutions,  choose one word as their theme for the year.  I’ve put some careful thought into this word and prayerfully asked for God’s guidance in choosing the right word.  The word that has come to me time and time again is the word “Silence.”  

Silence1. the state or fact of keeping silent or still 2. absence of any sound of noise; stillness 3. a withholding of knowledge or omission of mention 4. failure to communicate, write, etc.

So in keeping within this theme of “silence” this New Year, I hope to:

  • be slow to speak, yet quick to listen
  • always know that my words are powerful and always have consequences and realize that sometimes its best to just not saying anything at all
  • be more attentive to God’s still small voice, which will require that I be still and silent
  • constantly ask for the Holy Spirit’s guidance and wisdom in knowing when to speak and when it is best to remain silent
  • say only what honors God and brings Glory to Him
  • never gossip
  • be reminded that my whining and complaining are disrespectful to God and to stop–Just. Stop.
  • start my day having alone time with God
  • always speak the truth
  • use kind and gentle words that encourage and build up, never discourage or tear down
  • say something good or don’t say anything at all

086

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Resolved

  1. Relax... says:

    Wow… you’re setting the bar pretty high, actually. I know that I could do it, but if anyone can, you can, Gail. 🙂

  2. Relax... says:

    LOL, I meant to put “don’t” in there — I don’t know that I could do it. There must be an awful lot of selfless love put into saying less, hearing more. But, indeed, I think you can do it.

    • Gail says:

      I could have summarized this whole blog simply by saying, “I NEED TO SHUT UP!” But this way was nicer. Hee hee! No seriously, I need to talk less and listen more. And I will need lots of prayers to help me with this. I need to talk less and listen more when I’m on the phone, and in person and even in my electronic conversations. But having said all that, I’m hoping to blog more and stop putting blogging on the back burner so much!

  3. I definitely need to learn the art of silence.

    Also, I didn’t realize people picked themes instead of New Year’s Resolutions. What a neat idea!

Leave a Reply

