Monday’s Question

Question:  What’s the most difficult decision you’ve ever had to make?  

My Answer:  I’ve thought about this one a lot and without a doubt, I think it’s when I had to make the decision to put my cat to sleep about 2 1/2 years ago.  I had him for almost 20 years.  Those of you with pets will understand what a truly painful decision it can be to decide on euthanasia.  While part of me knew I was doing a kind thing for him in humanely ending his suffering, another part of me wanted so badly for his life to end on God’s timing and not my own.  I wanted him to just pass in his sleep so I wouldn’t be faced with this terrible decision.  I truly felt like I was killing one of my children.  It caused a grief storm to enter into my life quite like nothing I had ever experienced before and it took a long, long time to recover (and I’m actually not so sure I have fully recovered or will EVER truly recover from that experience).  But life goes on and we learn to put one foot in front of the other.  With time, I’ve moved out further from my grief and learned it’s not healthy to stay in that spirit of grief like I had been doing.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monday’s Question

  1. jlime@aol.com says:

    You didn’t name him one time in this blog. Shame

Leave a Reply

