Those Strange Recurring Dreams

006

I have a good friend who I grew up with in the same neighborhood and have known since childhood.  We went to kindergarten, elementary school, junior high and high school together.  We get together with our husbands every once in a while for dinner and a visit.  This friend and I always share a good laugh or two when we do get together. Once we got on the subject of recurring dreams and discovered we both have the same recurring dreams.  And we can’t figure out their meaning or why we keep having these odd dreams.

dreamdaisy2

In one recurring dream, I’m usually out somewhere in a public place and I’m trying to find a restroom.  When I finally do– it’s, well, let’s just say it’s not desirable in the least. It’s not usable.  The commodes are often overflown with feces and urine pooling on the floor.  I need boots to walk in the stalls.  There’s rarely any toilet paper.  Or if there IS toilet paper, it’s usually soaked with some stranger’s urine.  In the dream, I go from stall to stall to stall, and it’s all the same.  I usually end up disgusted and I leave.  I’ve had this dream for years.

017

The other night I had a different version of the dream.  I think my friend was with me in this dream as well as one of my sisters and we were somewhere in Europe.  We stopped at this very large public bathroom that seemed to go on for miles with different rooms and to my surprise, it wasn’t dirty or nasty.  It was very upscale and clean with beautiful peach stalls and peach and cream-colored tile all throughout, bronze sink fixtures, and huge fancy white marble light fixtures.  I timidly pushed open the stall door thinking it would be dirty and unusable, but it was sparkling clean–clean commodes and, shiny clean floors.  And there was toilet paper.  Yay!  But when I went to use the toilet paper, I couldn’t tear it.  It had these strong strands in it running perpendicular to each other that would not tear.  Hard as I tried and as long as I stood in the stall and fought this odd toilet paper, it wouldn’t tear.  Again, I went from stall to stall to stall, and it was all the same.  I remember being very frustrated in the dream because I finally had this very clean restroom to use but for the life of me, I couldn’t tear the darn toilet paper.  I woke up thinking what a very strange dream that was.

Another dream my friend and I have is that we’ve got chewing gum in our mouth and when we decide it’s time to get rid of the gum, we can’t get it out of our mouth.  We pull and pull and it keeps coming, but we can’t get it out.  In this dream, I’m usually getting ready to give a speech or am in a situation where I need to talk clearly, but I can’t because of this gum.  The gum keeps me from speaking clearly and often breathing good.  So I step away and try my hardest to get the gum out of my mouth but I never can.  How very odd.

When my friend and I were in high school, we were both in the marching band.  We often dream that we’re back in high school and the band is on the field lined  up just ready to begin their performance, but we’re late.  And we’re running (or trying to run) but we can’t make it.  And we fear the wrath of the band director if we don’t make it.  I also dream that I’ve forgotten something– usually my shoes, my baton, socks, etc.  I’m not sure why I dream this dream because I was never late to a practice while in high school and never forgot items like in the dream.  It’s very odd that both my friend and I both have the same dream (or sometimes slightly different versions but the gist is always the same).

003

Do you ever have strange recurring dreams?  Do you often wonder the meaning behind these dreams?

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Those Strange Recurring Dreams

  1. Relax... says:

    Lol, wow — those ARE weird dreams! I’ve often dreamed that I come to own a large multi-roomed house somehow, and I’m excited to deliberate about who will go in what room. The rooms are pretty ratty and old-fashioned, by the way. Geez, what a novelty, lol!

    • Gail says:

      That’s interesting. I’ve also had similar dreams that I have bought a very large house. I walk around the house (often getting lost) trying to decide how I will decorate it. The thing is…. there is always already furniture, beds, etc. in the house.

      • Relax... says:

        Yes! That’s what I meant by “ratty” — well-used beds, linoleum, rugs – one room even had a huge stove like you’d find in an old country house, lol. It was like a surprise extra kitchen in the middle of the house!

Leave a Reply

