Things I’m Loving These Days

  1. Listening to God- by Bruce Bickel and Stan Jantz

Listening to God

This is a new devotional I’ve been reading for a few weeks now.  The readings are short, easy to understand, and with a powerful meaning.  The devotionals are presented as if God the Father is speaking to you in the first person.  There are seven themes– one for each day of the week:

  1. Monday-God
  2. Tuesday- Jesus
  3. Wednesday- Holy Spirit
  4. Thursday- God’s Word
  5. Friday- Your Life
  6. Saturday- The World
  7. Sunday- The Church

2. Iced tea with lemon on a hot day

Iced_Tea_from_flickr

Photo credit: By Melissa Doroquez – Flickr: Iced Tea, CC BY-SA 2.0,

We’ve already had many days this spring and summer where the heat index has been over 100 degrees.  I hope this isn’t a hint of what we’re in for in July and August!  Don’t think I could survive without my iced tea.  I’m a southerner through and through!

3. Patriotic Patio lights

004

Red white and blue globe lights

006

I’m loving these in our screened in porch at night!  My photos don’t do them justice.  You’ll just have to trust me when I say they’re beautiful!

4.  Decorative Bat metal art

Those who know me know I love bats.  This was a gift from my oldest son when he came home for a visit on Mother’s Day last month.  He knows how to bring a smile to his dear old mother’s heart!  I have this guy happily dangling in our screened in porch above my patio table.  I think he’s adorable!

003

5.  New Patio table and chairs

The time had come to get new patio furniture as our old aluminum Sunbeam table and chairs were 25 years old and about worn out and let’s just say no longer comfortable. We found this black steel chair set on sale and then found a steel table elsewhere, also on sale.   The first chair assembly was a test of our patience but it was smooth sailing from there and we’ve been very pleased.

017

018

020

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Things I'm Loving These Days and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Things I’m Loving These Days

  1. Relax... says:

    Lovely! All of it!

  2. beautifulseekers says:

    I have never tried iced tea with lemon before! Will have to try before the summer ends 🙂

  3. Julie says:

    I might check out that devotional. I want the Father to speak to me in the first person, too.

    • Gail says:

      I’ve read two other books by these authors and I just like the way they write. They are good at simplifying things so that I can better understand. I hope you enjoy the devotional.

Leave a Reply

