Wind

Today’s WordPress one-word prompt is Wind.

When I saw the one-word prompt today, several things came to mind.  I’m not sure why the first thing to pop in my mind was a time when I was a young girl of about 9 or 10 years old on a hot summer day.  I was walking with a neighborhood friend of mine to the local drugstore which was about a mile from home.  We walked this path many, many times during our childhood and often rode our bikes.  We’d get a refreshing cherry smash at the drug store soda fountain and then usually go the five-and-dime next door to buy a small bag of hard candy.  On this particular day, we were about halfway to our destination, looking down at our flip-flops while chatting away as we always did, the hot summer sun beating down on our backs.  Suddenly we felt a cool wind blowing towards us which made us raise our heads and look straight ahead.  It was as if someone had drawn some sort of weather line in our world.  Where we stood was sunny and bright.  Ahead it looked dark and cumbersome.  The wind ahead was blowing the rain sideways and right towards us.  It wasn’t storming, just raining.  We watched the sideways rain blow right to us (I recall it took a minute for that dark cloud and rain to reach us– it seemed to be all in slow motion) and our sun disappeared.  It was an odd weather phenomenon and one I’ve never witnessed again in all my 57 years.

When I saw the word “wind,” I also thought of my all-time favorite song sung by Bette Midler– Wind Beneath My Wings.   It’s the song I used to sing to both my babies when I rocked them back to sleep after a night-time feeding.  Those were times I will treasure in my heart always.

 

With the word “wind,” I also thought of my mother’s favorite book, Gone With the Wind.

Gone With the Wind

And how she told me many times that I needed to read this book which in her opinion was the Best. Book. Ever. Written.  She was an avid reader.  I was never sure why she felt so strongly that I should read this book.  I finally got around to reading it when I was 52 years old and recovering from a rather painful surgery.  It was years after mother had passed away and I remember regretting that I had not read it while she was still living so we could share in a discussion of the book.  After I read Gone With The Wind, I watched the movie (which I had seen in bits and pieces but never in its entirety).

Clark_Gable_and_Vivien_Leigh_-_Wind

And sometime later, I watched the movie again.  There’s a lot of life lessons to be learned from Gone With The Wind.  It’s a novel I’m sure I’ll read again at some point.

What about you?  What comes to mind when you hear the word “wind?”

Gail ♥

 

 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wind

  1. AprilEsutton says:

    I saw it rain on one side of the street and not the other once. My first thought about wind was sailing with Dad, all the sailing and wind terminology, and how Dad would have hated this election.tap my pic and it will take you there.

    • Gail says:

      My husband and I were in Burger King recently and it was literally raining on one side of the restaurant while the sun was still shining on the other side. We kept looking left to right, left to right. It was very odd! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Relax... says:

    I’m not doing the prompts for a while, but I just realized one could also read it with the long “i” sound, as in, “I wind up the mantel clock every night.” Then again, no one has to wind anything anymore — unless they’re collectors! My first thought on seeing today’s prompt (read with the small “i” sound) was of that old song about the wind.. can you guess it? 🙂

    • Gail says:

      Blowin’ in the Wind?

    • Gail says:

      I didn’t even think one could read it like “wind the clock.” Good point! I’m not sure how I feel about the one-word prompts. Most leave me blank! Another “wind” song I thought of was “Candle in the Wind” sung by Elton John at Princess Di’s funeral. Always loved that one.

      • Relax... says:

        Ah, another great guess! I love all your named/posted songs. I’d better just tell you, since I’m 2 days older than Moses and my memory probably goes back too far: “They call the wind Mariah.”

      • Gail says:

        I know it but never would have thought of that one! When I was in the 10th grade, our Marching band played that (we did a Gershwin show).

      • Relax... says:

        Wow! Who knew?? I guess I always think of it as a cowboy song — do you think you would have guessed it if I gave you that as a hint?

      • Gail says:

        Duh… (Slap my head)! I got shows
        mixed up. We played that in our “Paint Your Wagon” show. The Gershwin show was the next year! LOL! I must be tired. No, I probably would not have guessed it. I was born in mid 1959 so it was a little before my time.

      • Relax... says:

        Yes, I was surprised to see it was written in ’51, because I was born in nearly ’52 and I couldn’t have heard it in a musical — I’m guessing it must’ve been on the Ed Sullivan show, or maybe Lawrence Welk. (I’m sure someone reading this just said, “Ed WHO? Lawrence WHO??” lol)

Leave a Reply

