Ghost

Today’s one-word writing prompt is Ghost.

Have you ever met anyone who said they lived with a ghost?  I have.

My first year of college, my freshmen English teacher claimed to be living in a house inhabited by the ghost of a young girl.  My older sister had this same teacher and she had told me about his ghost story.  In fact, his story was so well-known around campus, that I’m quite sure there were students who signed up for his class just to hear his tales.

He kept this story very short and sweet.  He said this ghost of the girl (I seem to recall he said she appeared to be around 6-7 years old) showed up from time to time in his house.  When asked where she was spending her time when she wasn’t at his house, his reply was that he didn’t know but he assumed when she wasn’t at his house that she was in heaven.  He said she obviously had unfinished business here on earth.

This professor was asked by a student in my class if anyone else had been able to see this child?  He said some could and some couldn’t.  He told us that he had actually invited the students from one of his classes to his house and the ghost of the little girl was there, but none of the students could see her.  Not one.  I have to admit, that made me skeptical.  Someone in my class asked him how he knew it was a ghost and not just some neighbor child running in and out of his house.  His reply was that the little girl who had lived at his residence for many years, never aged.  When asked if he was afraid of her, he said he wasn’t, that she never seemed intent on harming anyone.  She came and went as she pleased and to him, she seemed like a normal little girl.  I can’t recall if he ever said he had a conversation with her or not or if he was ever able to ask her any questions.

It’s been 39 years since I enrolled in that freshmen English class and I have to say, I’m still a little skeptical about his ghost story.  Even though I couldn’t even tell you the professor’s name now, I will always remember his ghost story.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

