Learning

Today’s WordPress one-word prompt is Learning.

I remember in my clinical year of veterinary school when a professor told me and another group of students that being a veterinarian required a lifetime of learning.  He said it involved learning new things on a daily basis and that if we EVER felt that we had reached a point where we felt we knew all there was to know in veterinary medicine, then we should probably just quit right then and there.  Because with that attitude, our vanity was going to prevent us from becoming good practitioners.  The moral of his story? Always be willing to learn because with each new daily sunrise, come new opportunities for learning.  I never forgot that.   I believed what my professor said was true and that his words didn’t just apply to veterinary medicine, but to life itself.  I happen to believe that we’re “students” from the time we exit our mother’s womb until we take our final breath on this earth.

World_Book_Encyclopedia,_1990

Photo Credit:  https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=25074428

I wrote a blog here about how I wanted to start memorizing scripture.  I’ve never felt memorization was something I was very good at and so I felt I needed some special instruction on how to go about it.  I googled scripture memorization and noticed a certain book that kept popping up again and again.

I decided after reading reviews on both Amazon and Goodreads that it was a book I wanted to order.  I was not familiar with the book, the author, or his writing.  The next day, I walked into a local Goodwill and imagine my surprise, when one of the first books I saw on the shelves was a copy of this book!  I don’t often feel like God is hitting me over the head and trying to tell me something, but standing in that Goodwill store, staring at that book, I was smiling to myself and feeling without a doubt that I was being led to read this book.  I bought it.

When I got home, I read the back cover in more detail and again, to my surprise, discovered the author was a resident of my hometown and is pastor of a church very close to where I grew up.  What are the chances of that happening?

I started reading the book last week and started memorizing the scriptures and I have to say, I’m loving this book.  In part one, Robert Morgan convinced me why it is beneficial to memorize scripture and made me even more eager to do so.  I don’t often feel so strongly about a book that I feel I need to contact the author, but I sent him a message online telling him how I came across his book, and how much I was loving it— that I had grown up very close to the church he was pastor at, etc.  I didn’t expect a reply from this very busy pastor, author, and speaker.   I learned from his blog that he also cares for his wife who battles Multiple Sclerosis.  But just a few hours later, I got the nicest reply from him thanking me for my note and telling me to call ahead if I ever decided to visit his church so that he could meet me.  He told me about his new book (just released) called The Strength You Need: The Twelve Great Strength Passages of the Bible (which I plan to read).  I appreciated his very kind reply.

1024px-Altar_and_bible_st_Johns_Lutheran

In his 100 Bible verses book, Robert Morgan says that we are never too old to learn to memorize scripture, that our memorizers might slow down some with age but our wisdomizers speed up due to all the information we’ve previously acquired.  I feel blessed by his words and look forward to learning and memorizing these 100 scriptures.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Learning

  1. Red Mountain Motel says:

    “I decided after reading reviews on both Amazon and Goodreads that it was a book I wanted to order. I was not familiar with the book, the author, or his writing. The next day, I walked into a local Goodwill and imagine my surprise, when one of the first books I saw on the shelves was a copy of this book!” I love when God does things like this!

  2. Julie says:

    I wish more doctors of animals and doctors of humans would heed the advice of your professor. It seems these days that human doctors limit their learning to whatever the drug reps tell them.

Leave a Reply

