Melody

Today’s WordPress one-word daily prompt is Melody.

Every year, usually in the fall, we have a mockingbird (which just happens to be our state bird) who serenades us from a tree in our backyard long into the wee hours of the morning.  I can almost set a clock to this bird as he starts about 1 am and continues this singing for several hours.  This one-man one-bird mockingbird concert is usually still going strong at 3 am and often he’s still singing away at sunrise.  I wonder when this little diva sleeps.  I’ve laid in bed before and counted his various melodies and I’ve counted up to 20 before getting confused as to whether or not he’s starting to repeat on me.  This little guy has some serious pipes.  I swear I heard him try to imitate an owl once which caused me to lie in bed and giggle.  I usually drift off at some point while listening to him and I usually find him quite entertaining.  His numerous lilts are just amazing.  But other times, he can be a tad bit annoying and can cause some serious insomnia since the hubby and I like to sleep with our bedroom window open in the fall.   I once thought I was totally over him and ready for him to fly away.  But then one night he didn’t come and the night was so deadly silent, I found myself missing my moonlight serenader.  Although I’ve never recorded my little friend, I found this on You Tube which reminded me of him.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Melody

  1. Relax... says:

    Aw, lucky! I rarely hear them anymore, but there was one on a back street who had a repertoire of 21 sounds (best that I could tell, too), and one who visited my job site in late Spring was trying out not only a crow’s caw (hilariously), but also apparently heard a train whistle at some point.. they do make us smile, don’t they? 🙂

Leave a Reply

