Another Recurring Dream

I had a very vivid dream last night and when I awoke, it bothered me.  You see, I’ve had this same dream over and over.  I have no idea what it means but I realize it must have some significance because why would I keep dreaming it?

In last night’s dream, it was just prior to daybreak and the sky was becoming a beautiful canvas of colors— oranges, yellows, and purples signifying the magnificent sunrise that was soon to come.  In the dream, I remember telling myself that I don’t see enough sunrises (or sunsets for that matter) and I was determined to go inside and retrieve my camera so I could capture the beauty that I knew was on the way.  I hurry so as not to miss it.

little_gasparilla_sunrise

sunrise-1557093_960_720

I go inside, find my camera and hurry back outside to begin photographing.  The sun starts to rise and it is breathtaking—a real sight to behold, but every time I point the camera towards the sun, things go dark.  After a minute or two, the lovely sunset is gone and gray and black clouds loom where my once beautiful sunrise was.  Feeling defeated, I turn off my camera and head back inside.

storm-clouds-426271_960_720 In other versions of this dream, the sun is rising quickly and it’s always a lovely sight, but my camera malfunctions and I end up missing the sunrise due to trying to get my camera in working order again— changing the batteries, etc.

Maybe I’m trying to read too much into this dream.  Maybe it just signifies my desire to witness some God-given glorious sunsets on this earth before I leave it.  Maybe I’ll do that soon and see if these crazy dreams stop.

Any thoughts?  Are there any recurring dreams that you have?

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Recurring Dream

  1. Me says:

    I have recurring dreams. Mine are about elevators that get stuck between floors and trains that are following me while I walk on tracks. I’m sure the psychologists would have a field day. Someone once told me that to get to the root of the dream you have to figure out how you are feeling in them. Are you anxious, disappointed, sad, frustrated, or lost? If you’re feeling defeated in your dream, perhaps there is an area in your life that you are struggling with and the inability to capture that perfect moment is a sign of your discontent with that situation? I don’t know. I know that my elevator and train dreams come at times when I am feeling anxious about something. It might be interesting to track when you have the dreams and then see what they coincide with in your life. Or maybe it’s just a sign for you to enjoy the now and not worry about capturing or saving it? Whatever the case, I hope you find some peace and are able to shake off the dream defeat, Gail. Best wishes!

    • Gail says:

      Thanks Justine! Your comment reminded me that starting a dream journal would probably be a good idea (I’ve contemplated that in the past but have never followed through). I asked a therapist one time about a recurring dream I was having- the one where I walk into a restroom and go stall to stall looking for one that is clean enough to use. The restrooms are always just nasty…. urine and feces soaked floors that are ankle high, either non existent toilet paper or toilet paper that’s urine soaked. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had this dream and the strange thing is that I have a good friend that has the exact same dream. Our husbands have never had the dream and they just shake their heads when we discuss the dream and all its variations. The therapist told me it was simple…. that it signified that I just needed to go to the bathroom (that I had a full bladder in my sleep). I’m not so sure of that interpretation and think there’s a deeper meaning. My husband and I discussed the sunrise dream at dinner last night. I told him I wonder if it’s a reflection of how I feel about social media–how it frustrates me that people have to document every minute of their lives with photos on Facebook Instagram, etc. And don’t even get me started on the Kardashians! I told my husband I wondered if the dream would have a different ending if I would just forget the darn camera and simply enjoy the sunset! Like you say, “enjoy the now.” I also wondered if it signifies that I know in my heart and soul that God is trying to show me SOMETHING and I’m trying hard to see it but I keep missing it time and time again. Or maybe it’s a dream I have because I don’t travel much (traveling has just never been my cup of tea), but at the same time I feel somehow I’m missing out on a lot of beauty by not traveling. My husband’s take on the dream was quite different. It at first made me laugh but then had me nodding and saying “hmmmm…… maybe he’s right.” He said maybe it’s a sign that I need to go to bed earlier (I’m the worst example of a night owl) and get up earlier! Could it really be that simple? Thanks for your thoughts and I hope your train and elevator dreams resolve as well.

Leave a Reply

