Things I’m Loving These Days

  1.   A Woman’s Walk With God: Growing in the Fruit of the Spirit– by Elizabeth George

I’ve just started reading this book but already I’m feeling very blessed by it.  I’ve read other books by Elizabeth George— Beautiful in God’s Eyes, A Woman After God’s Own Heart, and Loving God with All Your Mind, and I’ve loved them all.  I’m never disappointed.  I’ve also done a couple of her bible studies which I found both educational and challenging.  I love how this woman writes!  Her books are not books to read through quickly but to ponder slowly.

51xcpf7znwl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

2.  Precious Moments Pig Figurine  

I found this little cutie at a local antique store recently.  I couldn’t pass it up for just a couple of bucks!  He’s happily sitting on my window sill with his other piggy friends.

013

3.  Yeti Ramblers

Have you tried these?!  Oh wow!  We were gifted with several of these and we can’t rant about them enough.  They are made of Stainless steel and have seal tight shatter-proof lids.  They really do keep your cold beverages cold and your hot beverages hot. My oldest son takes his to work.  He told me the other day he loves it because it doesn’t sweat when it’s sitting on his desk like some other metal tumblers he’s used.  My husband and I filled ours with ice and Gatorade one day and went hiking.  On the way back we stopped for some shopping.  They sat in the very hot car in the shopping center parking lot for a couple of hours on what was a very hot and humid summer day.  We were amazed that when we came out, there was still ice in both!  We were impressed.  Last winter I poured my hot tea in one and in all honestly, I finally had to remove the lid to get the tea cool enough to even be able to sip it!  These things work.  They’re a little pricey but worth every penny!  An employee at Academy Sports told me a few months ago that Yeti had come out with a 64 oz. thermos that would hold about 4 cans of hot soup.  I think they were priced at $89.

010

yeti-20oz-rambler

4.  Candles and Tea Lights

I simply love candles and tea lights.  I light them just about every night in my den or living room or sometimes both.  I just love the warm ambiance of candle light.  I’ve always lit a candle in the center of our dinner table when our family eats at night for as long as I can remember.  I’ve already stocked up on fall candle scents.  Can you believe that the first official day of fall is only 6 days away?

015

019

021

A good friend gave me this candle for my birthday that she got on a trip to Louisiana.  It has such a  pleasant Gardenia scent and it’s fragrance fills the entire room.  My husband doesn’t like strong scented candles but even he has commented on how nice this one smells!

024

025

026

5.  The Waltons TV Series

I grew up watching the Waltons both in high school and college.  It was one of my favorite shows.  I’ve recently started watching the series again and it has made me yearn for more wholesome, family oriented shows such as this one. We don’t see that on TV anymore these days.  I find myself as I’m going back through the entire series always just wanting to watch one more episode.  There’s just something about this show that I love and I always feel good after watching them.  I always thought it would be awesome to live on Walton’s Mountain.  They had good strong morals and they were always so hospitable and full of love.  It was a simpler time.  Not an easier time necessarily but a simpler time.  .

the-waltons-complete-series

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Things I'm Loving These Days and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

