It’s Chili Time!

Last night I decided to make a pot of chili.  Hubby worked out in the yard most of the afternoon after watching his not-so-beloved-anymore Titans lose yet another game.  (BUT HOW ‘BOUT THEM VOLS?)!!!!!  He commented how good the chili smelled when he walked into the house.  I don’t remember where I got this chili recipe (I have several) but this one’s my favorite because it’s so easy to make and it’s delicious.  I remember reading that the most important ingredient was the one teaspoon of cocoa.  Yes, cocoa!  It does seem to add some richness to the flavor and improves the taste.  It sure hit the spot last night.  My husband and I do not like very hot or spicy chili so this mild recipe suits us fine.

Chili With Beans

2 teaspoons garlic juice

2 lbs. ground chuck

2 Tablespoons chili powder

1 teaspoon cumin powder

1/2 teaspoon salt (I use a little less than this)

2 (16 oz.) cans diced tomatoes

6 oz. can tomato paste

1/2 teaspoon sugar

1 teaspoon cocoa

1 (16 oz.) can kidney beans (I use light red)

Put meat into kettle with garlic juice.  Cook, stirring frequently until the beef loses its red color.  Drain grease.  Stir in chili powder, salt, cumin and tomatoes.  ( I also add some water-not much-about 1/4 cup or so). Bring to a boil and simmer uncovered, for about 25 minutes.  Add tomato paste, sugar, and cocoa.  Simmer for 15 minutes.  Add kidney beans and heat.

 

031

 

036

Gail ♥

 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Chili Time!

  1. JustI says:

    My chili is almost the same as yours, but I’ve never used cocoa. I’m going to give it a try! Sounds like chili time to me too!

Leave a Reply

