An Oldie But Goodie

My oldest son recently bought his first house so he’s been busy packing up things in his apartment to make the move into his house.  During the holidays, when he’s been home, he’s also been going through some of his things we still have here that were his but that he didn’t really have room in his apartment for.  We’ve been digging up boxes in the basement for him to go through and finding all kinds of old things that are bringing back lots of memories.

Tonight he found some jacks in a vintage metal box.  I’m sure I got them at Cracker Barrel and I’m sure they were a stocking stuffer for him many years ago.

y303_fsh112_p

Who remembers Jacks?   Do kids even play Jacks anymore?  Do kids even know what Jacks are?  I sat on his bedroom floor and played a game.  I was a little uncoordinated at first, but it quickly came back to me.

I remember sitting on my mother’s kitchen floor as a child, usually with my sisters or a neighborhood friend or two, and playing Jacks for what seemed like hours.  Remember onsies, twosies, threesies….. all the way up to tensies?   This game improved hand eye coordination and required concentration.  I remember my oldest sister was always so hard to beat.

Oh the memories!  Remember stepping on a jack with your bare feet?  OUCH!  Legos have nothing on these things!!!!  I grew up in the 60s and 70s and back then, jacks were always metal and smaller.  I had colored metal jacks.  I remember them coming in a pouch with a drawstring.

9cbf8010b0821ab8fc08e7c2570ec984

Kids don’t know what they’re missing out on these days.

Gail ♥

 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Oldie But Goodie

  1. Julie says:

    I played jacks on my mom’s kitchen floor with my sisters, too. Good times.

Leave a Reply

