Slogging Through Molasses

I had good intentions for this day but it was just one of those days.  One of those days where I felt like I was wading through molasses and moving in very slow motion.  Ever had one of those days?  My husband said he has felt the same way today which isn’t like him.  He’s been curled up in a blanket on the couch most of the day watching football and flipping channels.  He said he’s been cold all day.  It is very cold outside (for a southerner that is).  My cats have not even wanted to go outside and when they do, they’re wanting back in within 5 minutes.

On my agenda for today was to straighten the Christmas storage shelves down in the basement and the floor around those shelves.  I also wanted to go through all the Christmas boxes, bows and the wrapping paper container and reorganize those.  I actually did go down and get started on that but I felt like I was in an icebox so I ended up coming back upstairs when my teeth started actually chattering.  I took down the Christmas decorations in the house several days ago (the little tree today) but the boxes are stacked, piled and lined up in the hallway waiting to be carried down to the basement to be put on those reorganized shelves.  It won’t be happening today.

We got just a dusting of snow Friday night and Saturday morning (the first snowflakes we’ve seen this winter).  With our 60 and 70-ish degree weather lately, I was beginning to wonder if we were even going to have a winter at all this year.  The snow didn’t amount to anything but the sleet we got prior to the snow  was just enough to ice up our driveway and the very steep hills on our street. Our street doesn’t get much sun at all and when it does ice up, it usually keeps us stranded for a while.  But thankfully, the county (or somebody) came by and brined/salted it so we were able to get out last evening.

Hubby and I were in the mood for a hot bowl of chili tonight and when we were at the store yesterday, he specifically asked me if I had all the ingredients at home to make a pot tonight.  I assured him I did.

hintergrund-tapete-14592502852uc

Well, surprise, surprise, when I went to cook that pot of chili tonight, there were no chili ingredients to be found anywhere in the pantry—no kidney beans or canned tomatoes or tomato paste.  So much for having chili tonight.  So I made potato cheese soup instead and had that with some sub sandwiches and salads.  I guess I’m off to the store again tomorrow for those chili ingredients.  I did sit down and did the dinner menu planning for the rest of the week.

scan0001

Well, I think I’ll go make the hubby and me another mug of hot lemon tea.

love-pen-bed-drinking

Here’s hoping for a more productive tomorrow!  Stay warm!

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slogging Through Molasses

  1. Relax... says:

    I commiserate! It’ll warm up later in the week (probably for you folks, too), but it’s 3° F. out there presently. I am reluctant to do much of anything just yt!

  2. Wendy Reasoner says:

    Hi Gail. Glad to see you blogging again. Chili is on my menu for this week too.

Leave a Reply

