Ice Cubes and Dripping Water

My cats are weird little creatures (but I love them all the same).  Dakota (the gray tabby) is obsessed with ice.  He’s been that way since I got him as an 8 week old kitten.  We named him Dakota because he came from a barn in South Dakota.  I told my husband we should have named him ice-cube.  When he was a kitten, I would put an ice-cube on the kitchen floor and he and Nugget (the blonde tabby) would quickly get into a very captivating game of ice hockey.  They’re a pretty entertaining pair to watch.  I swear Dakota can be at the opposite end of the house from the kitchen and if someone drops an ice cube on the floor or if he so much as hears the refrigerator door ice dispenser, he’ll come running at breakneck speed to get to that ice.  Put an ice cube in his water bowl, and you’ve just made his day (and a friend forever).

Nugget, on the other hand, is obsessed with water.  And I mean to the point of needing therapy.  He particularly likes dripping water.  His favorite thing to do in the whole wide world is to sit and watch water dripping from a faucet.  I think the cat would sit there for 6 hours watching water drip.  I’m not sure why, but it just fascinates him.   His little head follows every drop.  Drip. Drip. Drip.

water-1271745_960_720

drip-921067_960_720

020

He not only sits on it, he likes to watch it flush too!

024

grabbing a nap in the sink

Put Nugget out on the screened in porch on a rainy day and he’s in pure bliss watching water dripping everywhere.  He can’t get enough.

Last night Dakota and Nugget were both looking pretty bored on a rainy winter night.  I got an old pan, filled the bottom with ice, and set it down on the living room floor.  They played with that ice for over an hour until it all melted (well Dakota played while Nugget mostly watched).  Nugget gets most of his entertainment watching Dakota.  He did play a little.

010

Trust me when I tell you this cat is in heaven.  Ice cubes are his favorite thing in the whole world.  He would rather play with ice than eat.   

011

015

Funny little creatures these two are.  The things they can entertain themselves with are endless.  Never a dull moment with these little guys around.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Animals, cats and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

