Random Thoughts This Weekend

I had written a post last night about something that happened to me yesterday that had me quite upset.  But my WordPress site was not cooperating and it was not saving my drafts. Then when I was trying to download some quotes, it froze and then somehow I lost the entire post.  Sigh.

I’m in the middle of attending a 3 day veterinary conference right now and I was too tired last night to start the post all over.  Besides, I decided maybe it was God’s way of saying he didn’t want me posting those particular thoughts.  And I wasn’t feeling too good about the post anyway.  My commute to the seminar is usually  only a 45 minute commute but due to wrecks on the interstate yesterday morning, that commute turned into a two-hour commute.  And then traffic on the way home was bad once again (bumper to bumper for quite some time) so it was another 2 hour drive back home.  I’m not used to that.

This morning I left earlier and was very glad I did.  On the way to the conference, I drive over a bridge that goes over a lake, and this morning the water was so peaceful and calm, sort of like the peace I’ve been praying for.  And then I saw the most beautiful sunrise.

 

pexels-photo-266708

sun-1018287_960_720

I was having a nice long talk with God about what I was so upset about yesterday and what a gift he gave me.  He truly calmed my soul with the Peace that passeth all understanding. And I desperately needed that.  I felt like I heard the answers to prayers.  I just love when that happens.  I made a decision I have been needing to make for a very long time and I’m totally at peace with that decision.

b0bn8v8icaalr2l

I’ve learned so much the last two days at the veterinary conference and for that I’m grateful.  Yesterday, I attended a half a day of feline lectures.  I also attended one by the DEA on controlled substances.  I learned that veterinarians are now the #1 go-to medical professional that drug addicts go to to get drugs (or attempt to get drugs from).  The DEA rep told a story and showed pictures of a dog who had been maimed by someone just so they could take it to the vet to get pain killers.  Sad, huh?  She said you can spot these people a mile away because they will just about always come in requesting Oxycontin or hydrocodone and if the veterinarian tries to dispense something else, they will quickly tell you NO, that their dog needs Oxycontin! The average veterinary client would never do that. Yesterday, I also attended a very good lecture on the latest updates on treating feline urinary blockages.  Since I have a cat with feline interstitial cystitis and just went through a trying time a few weeks ago with a friend when her cat, Buddy, blocked up, I was particularly interested in that one.  I also attended one on mosquito borne illnesses with the latest updates on Zika virus.  That one was an eye opener and quite scary!  But I learned a lot. Today, I attended lectures on canine heartworm disease.   Heartworm disease is transmitted in every state in the continental U.S.  Yes, heartworms are transmitted in Chicago and Arizona, and California.  House dogs are not immune because mosquitoes get inside your house.  The speaker said all dogs should be on year round preventative.  This guy’s passion was also veterinary medical photography and he showed some very interesting videos (of live heartworms moving in the heart– that one made me squirm so I can imagine how the poor dog felt) and photos of the damage heartworms do.  It’s a horrible, horrible disease.  Here in the southeast, heartworms are very prevalent and vets deal with them on a daily basis.  Here, if a dog is not on preventative, it’s going to get infected with heartworms sooner or later.  His research showed an advantage to using both a heartworm preventative and mosquito repellents.

This afternoon I attended a lecture on mindfulness and meditation.  The speaker led us through some mindfulness exercises.  I was either very tired after a big lunch, or I was extremely relaxed.  I dozed off and almost fell forward out of my chair!  That would have been embarrassing!

dingzeyu-li-773

yoga-tabby-cat

border-collie-jump-water-british-sheepdog-37860

pet-1933138_960_720

Tomorrow I’m attending lectures on a topic I’m very passionate about and have a strong interest in—Pet Loss Grief— and in particular anticipatory grief.

pet-loss-cover-ipg

This is one of my favorite grief authors.  I read several of his books on grief when my parents died, and then found this one when I lost my beloved cat.  His books are very simple and easy to understand and he gives good suggestions.  And I need simple when I’m grieving.

Since I experienced profound anticipatory grief with both my parents ( who both had prolonged illnesses) and my cat (who I had to euthanize 3 1/2 years ago), I’m looking forward to hearing the lecture tomorrow. My cat was 19 1/2 so my anticipatory grief lasted quite a while!   I like the speaker and I think I’m going to learn a lot from her.  I hope so. There will also be topics on euthanasia and hospice care for animals which are subjects I have a strong interest in.  I’m also attending a lecture on feline lower urinary tract disease as it pertains to stress and metabolism so I’m hoping I’ll learn a lot.  I think tomorrow will be a very busy day but a good day!

Have a great rest of the weekend!

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Life, Veterinary Medicine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Thoughts This Weekend

  1. Relax... says:

    A very thoughtful, thought-provoking post, and the pictures… wow!

  2. Julie says:

    Aww, thanks for the picture of the beagle. 🙂 I love learning, sounds like a wonderful 3 days.

Leave a Reply

