February Reading

I wasn’t sure that I would reach my goal this month of reading 4 books, especially since February’s a shorter month and it was a busy month.  But I made it just under the wire and finished the third and fourth book just today on this last day of February!

Here’s what I read this month.

  1.  Come Rain or Come Shine– by Jan Karon

51zsbeyk9hl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

This was book #11 in The Mitford Series.  My sisters and I just adore this series.  I’ve had this book on my shelf for well over a year and didn’t read it until now because I have not wanted this series to end (how’s that for a silly reason for not reading a book?)!  These Christian-themed books take place in the fictional town of Mitford, North Carolina.  They are about the life of an Episcopal Priest, Father Tim Kavanagh, and his friends and family of Mitford.  Oh, how I just adore Father Tim!  Come Rain or Come Shine features a long-awaited wedding between two of the beloved characters of Mitford.  I love these books because the characters are SO real, they are good clean books, they make me laugh, they make me cry, and they make me want to bring more kindness into the world.  Truly endearing stories that will warm your heart.  They are my go-to feel good books!  As a side note, I read that book #12 is coming out in September of this year…  I am so excited!  

2.  The Red Sea Rules: 10 God-Given Strategies for Difficult Times– by Robert J. Morgan

51sgc5ri9ll-_sx361_bo1204203200_

Using the biblical story in Exodus of Moses leading the Israelites out of danger from the Egyptian armies (when God parted the Red Sea), Robert Morgan discusses ten sound strategies for leading us from fear to faith when we experience trials in  our lives (and we all will)!  I really enjoyed this book, as I have enjoyed everything I’ve read from Robert Morgan.  He is fast becoming my favorite author.  I’ve read his blog from beginning to end and would love to meet him someday.  He pastors a church in my hometown and my sister and I are planning a visit to that church soon to hear him preach.  I would just love to meet him.

3.  The Thorn Birds– by Colleen McCullough

51jvpwn9sql-_sx307_bo1204203200_

I was 23 years old when the Thorn Birds mini-series came on TV.  I was in veterinary school but had come home (maybe for spring break or something?) and I remember my mother being glued to the TV watching this.  It seemed all my friends were watching it and talking about it. I think I read it was the second highest rated mini-series second to Roots (which I did watch).  I tried to watch The Thorn Birds and did watch a lot of it, but just couldn’t finish it.  I remember being turned off because I thought they put WAY too much make-up on Richard Chamberlain and I couldn’t figure out why in the world they would have done such a thing to a man.  That makes me laugh now, thinking that is the main reason I just couldn’t watch it on TV, but that’s the honest truth.  I liked parts of this book a lot. But it was a very depressing story full of one tragedy after another which made it hard reading for me. There was a lot and I mean A LOT of sadness in this book.  I liked most of the characters but it just didn’t seem that the characters acted very realistically to me.  I was glad I read the book, and parts of it I really enjoyed, but it’s not a book I would choose to read a second time.  I am a little interested in watching the entire mini-series now that I’ve finished the book.

4.  Married and Still Loving It:  The Joys and Challenges of the Second Half– by Gary Chapman and Harold Myra 

51znivl4sol-_sx320_bo1204203200_

I think I’m the only person on the planet who didn’t read Gary Chapman’s book The 5 Love Languages.  After reading this book, I definitely want to read it.  This was a nice book…. not a real in-depth book on marriage, but very practical and a very enjoyable and a quick read. The authors offer advice on how to make the second half of your marriage thrive.  They feature various couples who discuss their own marital journeys-both the joys and struggles.

Did you read anything interesting in February????

Gail♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to February Reading

  1. Relax... says:

    Hi, Gail! Haven’t read any books in a while, now, but yours sound great!!

    • Gail says:

      Thanks! Are you over your flu bug? Sure hope so!

      • Relax... says:

        Thank you. I think so, but it’s taken a toll on energy level. Is your weather behaving itself? I’m hoping Spring is not far off up here!

      • Gail says:

        It’s been very warm here. We’re supposed to have severe storms tomorrow…constant talk about high winds, heavy rain and possibility of tornadoes. My daffodils have bloomed and now the forsythia, Bradford pears and cherry trees are in bloom! I can’t call this a “winter” at all.

      • Relax... says:

        Wow! and, please be safe! Are you near enough water to ask God to send the winds out to sea? (I almost always ask that!) We have had microbursts up here (like mini-tornadoes on a zig-zag) — rarely, but they utterly demolish things and take life. Scary intensity.

      • Gail says:

        No, not near water. Storms hit this morning. Thank goodness they didn’t last long. There were some small tornadoes, trees and power lines down, cars flipped and tons of power outages. But we’re safe!

      • Relax... says:

        Well, thank God! And sometimes, I suppose it’s only our weather vulnerability globally as well as nationally that reminds us we’re a we. I’d rather the Beatles did that, though. Or Easter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

