Things I’m Thinking About

forsythia-1320515_960_720

  1. I actually found myself feeling just a tad bit guilty for being excited that spring is here when we had no winter.  And I mean NO winter.  It seemed to skip us by this year.  I can’t tell you how many days in January and February my husband and I had the windows thrown open in the house.  I shudder to think how bad the bugs are going to be this year.  Ugh.
  2. I never thought in a million years that I could (or would) spend 4 weeks watching a live cam of a giraffe’s rear.  I’m still watching the live giraffe cam at Animal Adventure Park (in New York) and am so addicted.  I can’t tell you the joy that watching April the pregnant giraffe and her mate Oliver has brought to me.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve sat in front of my computer watching those two, the times I’ve hilariously laughed out loud at their antics or the many witty comments on the live chat and the times I’ve cried.  I’ve been so touched by the loving care these keepers give their giraffes.  And then the wonderful news on their Facebook page today that due in part to the sponsorship by Toys R Us, that the Animal Adventure Park is making a $25,000 donation to the Giraffe Conservation Foundation (GCF).  Wow!!  Very impressive!!! It’s warmed my heart to read comments from so many people from all over the world who have said that April has brought them so much happiness and peace— from people suffering from cancer and going through chemotherapy, elderly people who are both alone and lonely, and those suffering from depression or other illnesses.  One lady said on the chat site tonight that her daughter, who had Cerebral Palsy, has really enjoyed watching the giraffes.  April and Oliver have been a great educational tool and a welcome break from all the “ugly” unkindness in the world right now.  We need more of that.  We need more  things like April’s hay showers to make us laugh.  Or Oliver’s “happy dances” when he knows feeding time is near.  I will be so sad when that web cam comes down. Baby giraffe, you just don’t know how this 57-year-old woman has prayed and prayed for your safe birth and arrival into this world.  The whole world is waiting for you and we can’t wait to meet you.  God love you.
giraffe-animal-funny-facial-expression-39504

No, this is NOT April (her photos are copyrighted).  This is just a free stock photo of a giraffe.   Aren’t they just beautiful animals?

3.  While I’m on the subject of animal butts, I may as well share this story.  Last week, I swept, vacuumed, and swiffered my hardwood floors.  Then I cleaned and shined them up with Bruce Hardwood Floor cleaner (best stuff ever)!  I figured when your cats are running down the hall chasing and pouncing on dust bunnies,  and batting them all over the place like hockey pucks, that it just might be a sign that it’s time to clean the blasted floors. Yes, really.  Well, here just a few days after all that cleaning, I kept finding these odd little smudges all over the den floor.  I kept wiping them up, but they kept mysteriously reappearing.  I couldn’t figure it out.  I thought maybe the smudges were perhaps from a new pair of shoes I recently bought, but then noticed the smudges appearing when I had not worn the shoes.  Then today, I happened to catch Nugget, (my sweet blonde tabby who my husband swears is missing a few chromosomes) scooting on his bottom across the floor which gave me the answer to where all those odd little smudges were coming from. Yuck.  Thank you Nugget.  Nugget has never been much into hygiene (I think he was taken away from his mother before she got around to teaching him some very important things— like how to clean your butt).  Thank goodness Nugget’s brother, Dakota, is VERY much into hygiene and so he bathes both himself and Nugget, butt and all.  Bless him.  He has the hairballs to show for it too.  Laxatone is his friend.  Needless to say, little Nugget got his rear end tuned up this afternoon (anal sac expression which didn’t seem to be the problem) and a thorough rear end washing.  Nugget is not speaking to his mommy tonight.  Nor is he scooting across the floor anymore.  Well, so far anyway.

020 4I saw my doctor today for chronic neck pain that started as a crick in my neck at the end of last September. I first saw my doctor for this problem in October who sent me for physical therapy and put me on Meloxicam (potent stuff) which worked wonders for the pain but tore my stomach to pieces and gave me the worst reflux EVER.  I stopped it.  The pain returned.  Long story short, here it is almost April and the pain is still there.  So today I had cervical spine X-rays and I’m probably looking at an MRI in the near future.  My doctor suspects a bulging disc in my cervical spine.  I should not have ignored this symptom of pain for so long.  I know better.

5. While we’re on the subject of health….. Last January, I contracted the respiratory infection from hell.  My primary care doctor and an ENT I ventured to, both thought it was a mycoplasma bug.  I’ve treated some very sick cats, rats, and rabbits with mycoplasma so I knew it could be a nasty bug. Well, hope you never get mycoplasma because I thought that little germ was going to do me in.  It knocked me for a loop and put me out of commission for weeks.  For days, I ran a fever and chilled and broke out in sweats, and went from the bed to the couch and back to the bed.  It affected my sinuses and my middle and inner ears and gave me a cough like I’ve never had before.  And I coughed and coughed til I thought I would cough up a lung.  The cough never went away.  Not after several rounds of antibiotics and steroids or anything else.  Yep, 15 months later and I’m still coughing.  I haven’t been to church, in like forever, because if I’ve learned anything, it’s that Episcopalians don’t like to share pews with people coughing (can’t say that I blame them) and after two Sundays of getting cough drops and peppermints hurled in my lap during the service, I decided I’d better just stay home. My husband wonders if my neck pain is due to my violent paroxysms of coughing. I have an appointment with a pulmonologist next week to finally get to the bottom of this.  It took months to get this appointment and  I’m kicking myself for having waited so long to even make the appointment.  Again, I know better.  As much as I’m ready to find out what’s going on, I have to admit I’m a little extremely nervous.

6. I’ve been trying to get motivated to do some spring cleaning.  So far I’ve thought about it more than I’ve actually gone into action.  I’m always battling clutter around here and as much as I dream about having a pristine house, I have to face the facts that I just am not that into housecleaning.  I take after my mother in that regard.  One can hope though.  I’m cracking out some of my organization and cleaning books and making out a huge to-do list.  I usually don’t fare well with to-do lists because I make them way longer than they ever should be which of course overwhelms me.  So I end up setting myself up for failure before ever starting.  Yeah, I’m weird like that.  I’m trying to learn to do better and keep my lists shorter.

Housecleaning books

Household organizing books

7.  I’ve had a hard time sitting down to blog and come up with posts lately.  I’m not sure, but it could have something to do with #2 and #4.  Ya think?  When I started this blog, it seemed the topics I wanted to write about were endless.  Now when I sit down to write, I just draw a huge blank.  Thank goodness for prompts.

I’ll end this long rambling post now.  It’s time to go chill with the giraffes for a while.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things I’m Thinking About

  1. Relax... says:

    I hope you’re able to get some neck pain relief soon! And cough relief!

  2. mumsthewordblog1 says:

    I enjoyed reading your post immensely. I’m glad the giraffes have brought you happiness and I hope that you find a cure soon for both your neck and your cough. Nothing is worse ( or guaranteed) to bring on a coughing fit than being in a quiet environment such as church or a meeting!

Leave a Reply

