Jesus Fed Them What????

424111_285760858160977_147332339_n

Hubby and I were shopping together at the grocery store today.  We passed by the seafood section and suddenly a story that happened at church a year or two back came to my mind. I rehashed the story with hubby which brought a loud roar of laughter from both of us.  It cracks me up every time.

Our church has a children’s sermon prior to the children going off to children’s church, where the priest calls the children up front to sit on the steps in front of the altar.  Then a little mini sermon takes place that usually deals with the gospel reading for the day.  There are often questions asked and cute engaging discussions between the priest and the children, and sometimes visual aids to give the children a better understanding of the lesson.  I have to admit, sometimes I gain more from the children’s sermon than I do from the homily.

On this particular day, the lesson was from Matthew 14:13-21 where Jesus feeds the 5,000. The priest set the scene and then asked the children if they knew what Jesus fed the multitude.  Immediately one little girl’s hand went flying up and she so very excitedly blurted out: “TILAPIA AND BREAD!”  I about fell out of my pew as the lady in front of me turned around, scrunched up her face and very quizzically and in a loud whisper said:  “Tilapia?????”

Children can be so stinkin’ cute sometimes.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jesus Fed Them What????

  1. Relax... says:

    LOL, ah, kids! Also, I love your fish and loaves graphic for meditating with, and I love the daffodil header. 🙂

    • Gail says:

      Thank you. I got the fish and loaves graphic off our church’s Facebook page. I put the daffodil header up a few weeks ago…. I was so ready for spring! LOL!

Leave a Reply

