It’s A Boy!!

I was so happy to be able to witness April the Giraffe having her calf on the livestream cam early this morning (along with 1.2 million other people).  I knew labor was imminent last night as she was pacing, pacing, pacing and doing a lot of licking.  Her behavior was definitely “off.”  I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning watching until I was literally nodding off at my computer and just could no longer keep my eyes open.  I had my alarm set for 7 am (CST) but got a call from my good friend Tommy at 6:53 who called to tell me she was giving birth.  So I sprinted out of the bed (my husband probably hasn’t seen me run that fast in, well… ever), ran into the living room and watched the livestream on the TV.

It was a perfect labor and birth and April is every bit as good a mama as I predicted she would be! That calf is such a cutie and I already can’t take my eyes off of him.  What a joy he will be to watch in the coming days!

Congratulations to the team and staff at Animal Adventure Park and thank you from the bottom of my heart for sharing this beautiful experience with the whole world these past two months.  What a gift of joy you gave to us this Easter weekend!  

giraffebaby

Gail ♥♥♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Animals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

