Sunday Glory- The Creation Museum and Ark Encounter Trip

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters.   Genesis 1:1-2

creation

I spent this past Thursday traveling to Northern Kentucky with my oldest sister.  On Friday we spent about 6 hours touring The Creation Museum in Petersburg, Kentucky. It’s a 75,000-square foot facility where we walked through biblical history, saw some pretty remarkable exhibits, toured the outdoor botanical gardens and a petting zoo. There was a special effects theater, a planetarium, an insectorium, dinosaur exhibits, a cafe and zip lines.  The museum has been visited by 2.5 million guests since its opening and I was almost convinced that all 2.5 million of them had come that day!  Yes, it was very crowded (buses and buses of church folk) and we stood in some long lines to see everything but no complaining from me as it was worth every bit of the waiting.

DSCF7852

DSCF7856

Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden

DSCF7876

The Botanical Gardens at The Creation Museum

DSCF7878

DSCF7877

DSCF7873

Petting zoo at The Creation Museum

Saturday, we ventured to Williamstown, Kentucky to the Ark Encounter, a full-sized Noah’s Ark, built according to the dimensions given in the bible.  It’s about a 45 minute drive from The Creation Museum.  It’s the largest timber frame structure in the world and was built by skilled Amish craftsman.  Spanning 510 feet long, 85 feet wide, and 51 feet high, this modern engineering marvel blew me away y’all!  It has three decks of exhibits and you will experience what Noah’s life may have been like on the Ark while he and his family cared for all those animals.  Have you ever wondered how many animals were on the Ark?  How Noah fit them all aboard?  Have you ever wondered how Noah and his family fed and watered the animals?  How he cleaned up after them? You’ll learn about all of that and more and how Noah and his family lived while on the Ark. And you’ll learn all about the flood.  I can not even fathom how Noah accomplished all this, especially after seeing the size of this ark (it’s really mind-boggling)!  Truly amazing and definitely worth seeing!   Again, expect long lines and huge crowds if you go (I’m not sure I would recommend going on a Saturday like we did) but it’s definitely worth seeing!  I loved every single minute of this tour! Even the pouring rain didn’t bother me because like my sister said, “What better way to experience Noah’s Ark than in the pouring rain!”

“There went in two and two unto Noah into the ark, the male and the female, as God had commanded Noah.”  Genesis 7:9

1275-1245719193VBNd

13 I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. 14 Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life.16 Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”

17 So God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on the earth.”  Genesis 9:13-17

DSCF7948

Front of the Ark (it was so massive, I had trouble getting the whole ark in the photo).  I couldn’t get far enough away!

DSCF7947

The front of the ark

DSCF7950

Noah’s Ark Replica (sorry, I couldn’t quite get the entire ark in the photo– almost but not quite). I could not get far enough away after walking and walking to photograph it and it was pouring rain that day.  You can see how massive it is by comparing it to the buses in the picture.  This is the front end of the ark.

DSCF7951

The back-end of the ark

DSCF7934

On a side note:  On the way up to Kentucky, my sister got a phone call from her daughter with the wonderful and happy news we had been waiting for that she had been accepted into veterinary school!  So she’s one step closer to achieving her dream of becoming a veterinarian.  We’re all pretty proud of her as she has worked very hard these past four years to achieve this goal and as you know getting into veterinary school is NOT easy.  It’s an extremely competitive and complicated process.  So congratulations to my niece Melissa…  Your Aunt Gail could not be more proud of you!!!  She and her twin sister are graduating from college in a few short weeks (same day, one hour apart in different cities)!  I have another niece who is also graduating college that same day!  So all of my nieces (three) are getting college degrees all in the same day and all in different cities! What are the odds of that happening?!

Melissa

My niece Melissa and her twin sister, Laura, in the back.  Love these two!

It was a good weekend!

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Animals, God, Sunday Glory, Travel, Veterinary school and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday Glory- The Creation Museum and Ark Encounter Trip

  1. Relax... says:

    Wow, that IS massive!! And it sounds like you had a wonderful weekend, indeed!! Even with the rain!

Leave a Reply

