Things I’m Loving These Days

  1.  Aladdin Insulated Cold To-Go 20 oz. Tumbler

 1023385243

I’m trying to drink a lot more water which has been difficult for me since I’ve just never been much of a water drinker.  I’m making a conscientious effort though to get healthier and lose some weight and I think drinking more water (a lot more in my case) is going to play a key role.  I’ve started to drink ice water from the time I get up in the morning until a few hours after the dinner time meal.  I purchased this Aladdin sea green double wall insulated tumbler at Target a year or so ago.  It doesn’t sweat and so keeps the table surface and your hands dry.  It’s efficient and keeps the ice from melting for hours and therefore the water stays cold.  It’s dishwasher safe, comes with a reusable sturdy smoothie-sized straw, and it’s the perfect size.  The tumbler also comes in different colors to choose from (there’s also a clear tumbler and a fuchsia colored tumbler that aren’t pictured).  I really like this tumbler!
L7641822 2.  Wooden giraffe and baby—carved in Kenya

DSCF7952

I found this on clearance in an Alabama Home Goods store.  Since I was heavily into the Giraffe hysteria that took over the world recently while awaiting April the Giraffe to have her calf, I couldn’t resist buying two of these.  I gave one to a friend of mine and her husband who were also on April-watch.  I have mine sitting on my mantle.  It’s perfect and makes me smile.  I think I’m a true giraffe-aholic now.

3.  Red Tea Kettle

avalon_pavre-6225-stl

I go through tea kettles like there’s no tomorrow.  The spring-loaded trigger spout on my last kettle broke and so it was time for another.  I’ve had all colors.  Since I love pigs and have a pig-themed kitchen, I’ve even had 2 pink tea kettles.  A dear friend from church once told me that her mother told her that you should always have something red in every room of your house.  Even if it’s only a single red rose, because just having that little splash of red will “liven” up a room.  We were discussing this in book club at church one day and I had never heard this.  I do have red in most of my rooms but since I didn’t have red in my kitchen, I decided I would try a red tea kettle.  I found this red matte kettle at Target. I’m very happy with it…. I just wish it whistled a little louder!   I could hear my old tea kettle whistle from any room in the house but this one has a much softer whistle.  Good thing my kitties always “alert” me when my kettle is whistling and will hunt me down meowing loudly to let me know the water is boiling. God love ’em… what would I do without them?

4.   Waterpik Water Flosser

00073950258609

The dental hygienist and my dentist recommended this to me for years before I finally went out and bought one.  Ashamedly, I’ll admit that it was another few years before I actually took the thing out of the box and used it!  What can I say?  I’m such a procrastinator.  I guess I just refused to believe that it could be more effective than regular dental floss but boy was I wrong.  It took a nasty gum infection caused by a popcorn shell to get me to finally break it out of the box and use it.  I’ve been using it daily ever since and I’m amazed at the difference in my gum health.  It’s rechargeable and portable.  And yes, it really DOES work much better than regular dental floss. Moral of the story?  Don’t be stubborn like me.  Listen to those dental professionals!

5. Copper Nonstick pan

310ywwr8GnL._SX355_

I got one of these for Christmas and was curious to see if it would live up to all the hype I’d heard about them.  It has.  I really like cooking with it.  So far I haven’t found anything that sticks in it and it washes so easily.  Now I’m seriously thinking about getting one of the Red Copper Square ™ pans as it holds a little more and is deeper.  I’m such a sucker for these As Seen on TV products.

6.  The blooming beauty of spring-time

The rain’s been hard on the spring flowers this year (we’ve really had a lot of heavy downpours in the past few weeks).  My azalea was beautiful as always but only for a day or two before the wind and rain knocked all the blooms to the ground.  Several of my irises have bloomed (definitely my fav flower)!  The peonies bloomed just a couple of days ago but the rain got them last night and they’re gasping on the ground now.

DSCF6309

DSCF7097

009

005

009

010

002

010

These are my next door neighbor’s Azaleas…. so beautiful!

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Things I'm Loving These Days and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

