April Reading

I didn’t get much reading done in the month of April and my goal of reading 4 books a month was not met.  I completed only two books this month.  It was a busy month filled with doctor appointments and medical procedures and I just didn’t seem to be in the mood to read.  A great deal of the reading I accomplish is at night in bed before turning out the light and the usual act of propping my head up on two pillows seems to be aggravating my neck pain.  So my bedtime reading has drastically decreased here lately. Here’s the two books I did read:

  1.  Falling Into Grace: Exploring Our Inner Life With God– by John Newton

748165384

I was interested in reading this book after hearing about an Episcopal church book club in the area who was doing a study of the book.  I also read some about it on a blog I came across.  The author is an Episcopal priest in the diocese of Texas and serves as the Bishop’s Chief of Staff.  It’s  a short book, but don’t let that fool you.  I found it to be very deep and one I couldn’t read through quickly.  Each chapter had thought-provoking discussion questions at the end.

From the Amazon comment page: “Jesus was quite clear that we must lose our life before we find it. This book gives a hopeful and realistic look at what losing our life entails, articulating how “growth” in the Christian life is not our ascent to God but the process by which our eyes are opened to the beauty God has already given to us. It is a book about descending into God, and into our own inner depths, about the deep waters of the Christian faith. “Put out into the deep and let your nets down for a catch.”

In the introduction, John Newton says:

Grace is not some spiritual vitamin we take that helps us control our life, but the all-consuming experience of God’s Life taking over, which always leaves us more relinquished to God than before.  It is an experience that feels an awful lot like falling.  Like Jacob, we limp away from the encounter with God not quite sure what happened or what to make of the experience.

Jesus routinely told us that he came, not to teach us how to succeed, but rather how to fall, lose, and die.

This book extends the invitation to us to let ourselves fall.  I understood the grace and healing power of God a little better after reading this book.

I enjoyed this book but I think I would have liked it even more had I read it with a group in a book-study format with discussion.  Like I said, it was deep (or I thought it was anyway).

2.  Your Body’s Many Cries For Water: You’re Not Sick; You’re Thirsty                     Don’t Treat Thirst With Medication– by F. Batmanghelidj, M.D.

51ooKEQyDLL._SX339_BO1,204,203,200_

From Amazon’s comment page (with some spelling and grammar correction by yours truly):  This is the third edition of Dr. F. Batmanghelidj’s classic water book! This book, based on a pioneering physician’s twenty years of clinical and scientific research into the role of water in the body, explains a breakthrough discovery that Unintentional Chronic Dehydration(UCD) produces stress, chronic pains and many painful degenerative diseases. Dry mouth is not the only sign of dehydration; waiting to get thirsty is wrong. You will learn the different signals of thirst when your body is calling for water. Simply adjusting your water intake – yes, water! Natural, pure water!- can help you to live a healthier, pain-free life. Learn: How to naturally prevent and reverse conditions such as asthma, allergies. How to naturally eliminate pains including heartburn, back pain, arthritis, colitis pain, migraine headaches. How to use water to prevent and combat premature aging. How to lose weight effortlessly, without strict dieting.”

______________________________________

I’ll start off by saying this is a controversial book and I knew that before delving into it. The biggest problem is that there doesn’t seem to be much factual research provided by the author.  He provides lots of testimonials from people who believe in his claims and anecdotal evidence but it wasn’t backed by research.  So I did have a lot of “issues” with this book.

That being said, I think a lot of what this doctor says is true.  Most people DON’T drink enough water and most of us walk around in a chronically dehydrated state.  I certainly don’t think water is a cure-all for every disease but I do think drinking more water can help many medical conditions.  As a GERD sufferer myself, I was particularly interested in his claims that water can greatly help those who suffer with acid reflux.

So while I questioned a lot of what was written in this book, the big take-home message for me after reading it was that I was not drinking near enough water and I needed to start!  Soooo…. I’m giving up my sweet tea (believe me that might just kill this southern gal) and I’m incorporating more water drinking (much more) into my weight loss program.   Yesterday I drank 80 oz. of ice water which was quite an accomplishment for me as drinking plain water has always just been hard for me.  I’m discovering that as I drink more water, I don’t really want anything else in the way of beverages.

lemon-water-1420277_960_720

Happy water drinking and happy reading!

Are you a big water drinker?  Did you read anything interesting in April?  Leave a comment if you so desire.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

